Australia name Mitchell Swepson, Jackson Bird in 14-man Test squad for Bangladesh tour

Australia name Mitchell Swepson, Jackson Bird in 14-man Test squad for Bangladesh tour

Queensland leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson has been added to Australia's Test squad for their tour of Bangladesh as a replacement for injured fast bowler Mitchell Starc who suffered a stress fracture in his foot on the tour of India and was sent home.

Swepson, australia vs bangladesh
Mitchell Swepson is the third front-line spinner in the side.

Australia had to make a change to their earlier announced Test squad for Bangladesh after James Pattinson was ruled out due to inflammation in his back. Cricket Australia confirmed on Saturday that Jackson Bird will replace the pacer in the squad.

The news came shortly after Australia announced Mitchell Swepson of Queensland as the replacement to injured fast bowler Mitchell Starc.

Thinking of the Ashes series against England later this year, Cricket Australia decided to replace Pattinson after he complained of inflammation around the same area he suffered a stress fracture though the board said it was not another stress fracture.

Swepson, who had made it to the squad for the India tour, will be the third spinner in the squad after Nathan Lyon and Ashton Agar. A pace bowler was expected to replace Starc but instead the spinner was selected.


“We are comfortable with the fast-bowling stocks we have in the squad so have opted to add an additional spinner given the conditions we are likely to face in Bangladesh,” selector Trevor Hohns said in an earlier statement.

“Mitchell is a very exciting young leg-spinner who we think will benefit immensely from further experience in the sub-continent.”

The two are replacements to the original squad that was announced in June and CA was hoping to find a replacement to Star, who suffered a stress fracture in his foot on India tour, through the Australia ‘A’ side’s South Africa  tour. But, this was cancelled after players boycotted due to the pay dispute which was settled on Thursday.

Australia begin the tour with first Test from August 21 to 31 in Dhaka and the second beginning from September 4 in Chittagong.

Australia Test squad: Steve Smith (captain), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Jackson Bird, Hilton Cartwright, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, James Pattinson, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade.