Follow Us:
Monday, July 13, 2020

BCCI recommend four names for Arjuna Award

BCCI has recommended one female and three male cricketers - Poonam Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja - for the Arjuna Award.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: April 27, 2019 8:36:52 pm
Lok Sabha elections 2019: Sister, father in Congress, cricketer Jadeja backs BJP BCCI have recommended all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja for the Arjuna Award. (Source: PTI)

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the administrative body for cricket in the country, has recommended the names of Poonam Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja for Arjuna Award. The honour is bestowed by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India recognising outstanding achievement by the athletes.

The announcement was made on Saturday (April 27) when the Committee of Administrators (CoA) met in New Delhi.

Shikhar Dhawan, who was recommended last year by the BCCI but was not shortlisted by the awards panel, doesn’t feature among the choices this year.

Speaking about Poonam’s recommendation, a BCCI official was quoted as saying by PTI, “There was no other deserving candidate to be honest. Most of the senior players have already got the award while it is still early days for the youngsters even though they have done well at the global stage.”

As per guidelines, to be eligible for the Award, a sportsperson should not only have had good performance consistently for the previous four years at the international level with excellence for the year for which the Award is recommended, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

A total of 53 cricketers have been awarded the Arjuna Award with Saleem Durani, in 1961, the first recipient. In 2018, Smriti Mandhana became the latest to be awarded the Arjuna Award.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.