Follow Us:
Friday, January 24, 2020

Abu Dhabi T10: All you need to know about the star-studded league

Abu Dhabi T10: With players ranging from Eoin Morgan to Zaheer Khan, Shahid Afridi to Rashid Khan, the third season will be held from November 14 to November 24 with two new franchises in the mix.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: October 9, 2019 8:37:49 pm
Abu Dhabi T10: The league will be in action for ten days. (Source: T10 League)

Abu Dhabi T10: The UAE-based league will kick-off its third season ever since its inception in 2017 from November 14 at the Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi. It is sanctioned by the ICC and licensed for 10 years by Emirates Cricket Board, and now with a five-year partnership with the Abu Dhabi government, the league aims for newer heights, with more international players, a wider audience and increased broadcasters.

The brainchild of billionaire businessman, Shaji Ul Mulk, who is the chairman of Abu Dhabi T10, hopes to build on the success of their second season in 2018, where the franchise Northern Warriors prevailed as the champions.

The tournament’s uniqueness lies in its 10-over-a-side format with a time duration of 90 minutes. The tournament will be played as a round-robin followed by eliminators, and semifinals, and then the final.

Changing things from last season, two new franchises have joined the T10 League, namely Pakistan-based side Qalandars and Bangladesh-based side Bangla Tigers. Pakhtoons, last season’s runners-up have dropped out, and on the other hand, the franchises known as Bengal Tigers and Sindhis have undergone rebranding, who will be known as Delhi Bulls and Deccan Gladiators respectively.

CEO Matthew Boucher, Colin Ingram, Chairman Shaji Ul Mulk, General Secretary of Abu Dhabi Sports Council Arif Al Awani, Andre Fletcher and Luke Ronchi at the opening. (Source: T10 League)

While the Qalandars are owned by Fawad Rana’s Qatar Lubricants Company Limited (QALCO) which also owns Pakistan Super League’s Lahore Qalandars, the Bangla Tigers are owned by Bangladeshi business tycoons Yasin Chowdhury and Sirajuddin Alam.

  • The third season of Abu Dhabi T10 will start from November 14
  • Players like Eoin Morgan, Lasith Malinga, Shahid Afridi will take part
  • Qalandars and Bangla Tigers are two new franchises
  • Bengal Tigers and Sindhis renamed to Delhi Bulls and Deccan Gladiators

Adding spice to the franchises and bringing audiences to Abu Dhabi are Asian stars such as India’s Zaheer Khan; Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Mohammad Shahzad; Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews, Lasith Malinga; and Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik.

Other international stars include England’s World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan; Australia’s Shane Watson, Cameron White, Chris Lynn; and West Indies’ Darren Sammy, Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo.

Qalandars’ Shahid Afridi with Arif Al Awani. (Source: T10 League)

The teams confirmed for participation in the third season are Bangla Tigers, Deccan Gladiators, Delhi Bulls, Kerala Knights, Maratha Arabians, Northern Warriors, Punjabi Legends, Qalandars, and Rajputs.

The auction to choose the icon players for each team and the catchment players from the draw will take place on October 15. The schedule is yet to be out, but it is confirmed that the final will be held on November 24 in Abu Dhabi itself, instead of Sharjah, unlike the previous editions.

Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) has joined with Abu Dhabi T10 as their official broadcast partner for the third consecutive year.

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App