Follow Us:
Wednesday, June 23, 2021

World Cup 2019: Did umpiring error cost MS Dhoni his wicket in semifinal?

MS Dhoni getting run out in the penultimate over proved to be one of the turning points in India's semifinal loss against New Zealand.

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: July 14, 2019 8:42:11 am
ms dhoni, dhoni runout, ms dhoni runout no ball, dhoni runout no ball, dhoni no ball runout, dhoni runout controversy, dhoni guptill, dhoni ind vs nz, dhoni new zealand, ind vs nz, india vs new zealand, icc world cup 2019, world cup umpiring, world cup news MS Dhoni was run out in the penultimate over. (Source: Twitter)

The run out of MS Dhoni in the penultimate over pretty much brought the Indian chase in the semi-finals to an end, with the team finishing well short of the 240-run target. A top-order collapse put India under the pump before Dhoni along with Ravindra Jadeja put up a sensational century stand to raise hopes of a turnaround. But the dismissal of Jadeja, and Dhoni being run out by Martin Guptill, dashed all hopes of the title-favourites.

However, a video which has emerged on Twitter sparked a massive debate on the legality of the delivery and raised doubts about whether it could have affected the outcome of the match.

As per rules in third powerplay, only 5 fielders can be outside the 30-yard circle. But before the ball is delivered a small graphic shows six New Zealand players standing outside the ring. It must be remembered here that even if it was a no-ball, Dhoni would still have been run out (since a batsman can be run out of a no-ball).

However, the video has prompted plenty of reactions with several fans slamming the umpires. One of them said, “Dhoni might have not taken the second run if it was no ball. If indeed umpires made an error then it would have been a no ball & the next ball, Dhoni would have got a free hit. Instead, he had to run hard for two and got run out.”

With 25 runs needed off 10 balls, Dhoni attempted a quick double, but Guptill’s direct hit sent the former captain back to the pavilion. However, another section of fans have pointed out on Twitter that the third man was up and it could be that the graphic shown was before that change was made.

Reflecting on the loss India captain Virat Kohli said, “MS had a good partnership with him (Jadeja), and again a game of small margins, run out by a small margin. Always feels bad when you play well all tournament and then 45 minutes of bad cricket puts you out. New Zealand deserve it, they put us under more pressure. At times, I think our shot-selection could have been better.”

“We thought we had restricted New Zealand to a chaseable score on any surface but the way they come out with the ball in the first half-an-hour was what made the difference,” Kohli said.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.