ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: ICC announces list of umpires and referees

By: Press Trust of India | | Dubai | | January 30, 2015 1:36:06 pm

ICC Cricket World Cup, ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup, ICC Cricket World Cup umpires, umpires ICC Cricket World Cup, Cricket News, Cricket Aleem Dar and Kumar Dharmasena will be standing at the MCG where the home team Australia will take on arch-rivals England on Feb 14. (Source: Reuters)

Marais Erasmus and Nigel Llong will be the on-field umpires for the World Cup opener between New Zealand and Sri Lanka on February 14 as ICC on Friday announced the umpire and match referees for the pool stage of the mega cricket event.
S Ravi and Simon Fry will be the third and fourth umpires, respectively, while David Boon will be the match referee for the first match to be held in Christchurch.

On the same day in a day/night fixture in Melbourne, Australia will lock horns with England in a match which will be umpired by Aleem Dar and Kumar Dharmasena.

Billy Bowden will act as the third umpire, while Joel Wilson will perform the fourth umpire’s duties. Jeff Crowe will be the match referee.

Apart from Boon and Crowe, Chris Broad, Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama will share the match referees’ responsibilities during the 44-day tournament in which 49 matches will be played. All the five are members of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees.

Apart from the four on-field umpires in action on the opening day, Bruce Oxenford, Ian Gould, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rod Tucker and Steve Davis will feature during the event.

Fry, Ravi and Wilson are members of the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires. They will be joined by Johan Cloete, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Ranmore Martinesz and Ruchira Palliyaguru during ICC’s pinnacle event.

Recommend this story:
TAGS: ICC, World Cup