Follow Us:
Monday, June 14, 2021

Performance is least considered in our country: HS Prannoy after Arjuna Award nomination snub

Hours after being snubbed from Arjuna Awards nominations, HS Prannoy slammed the 12-member selection panel and stated that "performance is least considered in our country."

By: Sports Desk |
Updated: August 18, 2019 2:50:36 pm
hs prannoy, prannoy, k srikanth, Lee Chong Wei , Indonesia Super Series Premier, indonesia open, jakarta, quarterfinals, badminton, indian express HS Prannoy slammed the 12-member selection panel after being snubbed from Arjuna Awards nominations. (PTI/File Photo)

Hours after being snubbed from being nominated for the Arjuna Awards, HS Prannoy slammed the 12-member selection panel, saying, “performance is least considered in our country.” The Indian shuttler in a tweet also claimed that if players want their name in the nomination list, then they should have strong backing from influential people.

“If you ever want your name in the Awards list, make sure you have people who will get your name to the list. Performance is least considered in our country. Sad state of our county but can’t help it. Let go and just play until you can,” Prannoy tweeted.

He also lamented that only two badminton players had their names in the nomination list. B Sai Praneeth and Pramod Bhagat, who represents India in para-badminton, are the only two players among the 19 names that were listed in the nominations for Arjuna Awards.

After bowing out early from the recent Thailand Open and the Japan Open, the shuttler is preparing to fight for a major title at the upcoming BWF World Championships, which starts from Monday.

After bowing out in three quarterfinals in the year, a lot will be expected from Prannoy to overturn his poor show at the world arena. In his last stint in the Hyderabad Open, the World No 31 lost against a lower-ranked Jia Wei Tan, casting doubt about his composure in big events.

List of Sportspersons nominated for Arjuna Awards:

Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (athletics), Mohammed Anas Yahiya (athletics), S Bhaskaran (bodybuilding), Sonia Lather (boxing), Ravindra Jadeja (cricket), Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (hockey), Ajay Thakur (kabaddi), Gaurav Singh Gill (motorsports), Pramod Bhagat (para sports-badminton), Anjum Moudgil (shooting), Harmeet Rajul Desai (table tennis), Pooja Dhanda (wrestling), Fouaad Mirza (equestrian), Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (football), Poonam Yadav (cricket), Swapna Burman (athletics), Sundar Singh Gurjar (para sports-athletics), Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth (badminton), Simran Singh Shergill (polo)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Sports News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.