Follow Us:
Monday, January 18, 2021

Navratri 2018 Puja Vidhi, Samagri, Mantra, Procedure

Navratri 2018 Puja Vidhi, Samagri, Mantra, Procedure: During this time, devotees come together to celebrate one main thing — the victory of good over evil, that is when Goddess Durga emerged victorious over the demon king Mahishasura.

By: Lifestyle Desk | New Delhi | Updated: October 10, 2018 6:00:32 am
navratri, navratri 2018, navratri puja, navratri puja vidhi, maa durga, maa durga puja vidhi, navratri maa durga puja, navratri maa durga puja vidhi, navratri puja mantra, navratri puja samagri, navratri puja procedure, navratri maa durga puja samagri, navratri puja 2018, navratri puja muhurat, navratri puja time, navratri puja timings, indian express, indian express news Navratri 2018 Puja Vidhi: Navratri will be observed from October 10 to 18. (Source: Thinkstock/Getty Images)

Navratri 2018 Puja Vidhi, Samagri, Mantra, Procedure: During the nine day festival of Navratri, Hindu devotees across India offer prayers and worship the nine avatars of Durga. It is believed, that Goddess Durga battled with demon Mahishasura and defeated him. To celebrate her victory and Mahishasura’s defeat, the festival is marked to worship and honour the Goddess.

ALSO READ| Navratri 2018 Start and End Date in India: When is Navaratri starting in 2018?

The festival is more popular and prominently celebrated in the western states of Gujarat, Maharashtra, West Bengal and the southern state of Karnataka.

On the very first day of Navratri, Maa Durga is invoked into a Kalash with full Vedic rituals along with chanting of mantras. The invocation and dwelling of the Goddess into the Kalash is known as Ghatasthapana or Kalashsthapana which happens at an auspicious time of the day.

While in West Bengal, the last four days of Navratri is celebrated with much pomp and enthusiasm and is known as Durga Puja. The Kalparambha and Bilva Nimantran during Durga Puja, which is done on the sixth day of Navratri, is symbolically same as Ghatasthapana or Kalashsthapana in other states.

Jyoti Kalash, Kumari Puja, Sandhi Puja, Navami Homa, Lalitha Vrat and Chandi Path are other famous rituals and events which are observed during the nine days of Navratri.

According to, the Ghatasthapana Muhurta will begin at 6:22am and go on till 7:25am, that is for a duration of 1 hour and 2 minutes. The Pratipada Tithi begins at 9:16am on October 9 and ends at 7:25am, October 10.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest Religion News, download Indian Express App.