Follow Us:
Monday, August 08, 2022

Telangana row: Cong MPs give notice for no confidence motion

Any move to bring a no-confidence motion requires the support of some 50 odd members.

Written by PTI | New Delhi |
December 9, 2013 3:59:26 pm

In more problems for Congress on Telangana issue,six party MPs from Seemandhra region on Monday gave notice for moving a no-confidence motion against the Manmohan Singh government.

The members – R Sambasiva Rao,Sabbam Hari,V Arun Kumar,A Saiprathap,L Rajagopal and G V Harshakumar,have written to Speaker Meira Kumar on the issue.

In the letter,they sought permission to move a motion expressing no-confidence in the Union Council of Ministers under Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedures and Conduct of Business in the Lok Sabha.

The plan of the MPs appears to be to embarrass the government on the Telangana issue by seeking support of those opposed to the division of Andhra Pradesh or creation of smaller states.

Subscriber Only Stories
Post for Tejashwi holds RJD hand, BJP waits and watchesPremium
UPSC Essentials: Key terms of the past week with MCQsPremium
Road to 2024 | Droupadi Murmu at Raisina Hill: BJP may run into some bumpsPremium
Nitish Kumar’s shuffle of 3 C cards: A tale of  his flip-flop-flips...Premium

Any move to bring a no-confidence motion requires the support of some 50 odd members,ten per cent of the membership of the House.

The 15th Lok Sabha has not seen any no-confidence motion.

A plan by Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress to bring it over a year back came a cropper as it failed to find the requisite support. Trinamool has 19 members in Lok Sabha.

The MPs from Seemandhra,as well as those from the TDP,have been protesting the division of Andhra Pradesh in the House,with several of them moving into the Well today.

Large-scale protests have engulfed the region in Andhra Pradesh,with a bandh call given by several parties including TDP and YSR Congress after the Union Cabinet approved the draft state reorganisation bill last week,based on the recommendations of a Group of Ministers.

TWO IS ALWAYS BETTER | Our two-year subscription package offers you more at less

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Political Pulse News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 09-12-2013 at 03:59:26 pm

Featured Stories