Follow Us:
Thursday, June 30, 2022

Shekher,’Karate’ Thiagarajan expelled from TN Congress

‘The members were expelled for anti-party activities and for conducting false campaigns.’

Written by Agencies | Chennai |
April 14, 2011 3:08:49 pm

Former Deputy Mayor of Chennai ‘Karate’ R Thiagarajan and actor-politician S Ve Shekher were among the 19 members expelled on Thursday by the Tamil Nadu Congress from their basic membership for “anti-party activities”.

“The members were expelled for anti-party activities and for conducting false campaigns by means of supporting the Opposition parties,” TNCC president K V Thangkabalu said in a statement.

Congress members were advised not to have any kind of party-related communication with the expelled members,he said.

Sitting Mylapore MLA Shekher,who was elected on an AIADMK

Best of Express Premium
Newsmaker | Eknath Shinde: No. 2 after the Thackerays, backer of BJP, MVA...Premium
UPSC Key-June 30, 2022: Why to read ‘Collective Responsibility’ or ‘Inver...Premium
TN Finance Minister Palanivel Thiaga Rajan: ‘Don’t know of a ...Premium
Efforts to estimate poverty from 2011-21 are commendable, given absence o...Premium

seat before being expelled in 2009,had joined the Congress

recently and was not allotted a seat this time around.

Trouble brewed in the Congress after All India Congress Committee nominated Thangkabalu’s wife Jayanthi to contest from Mylapore constituency for the Assembly polls in Tamil Nadu,which concluded yesterday.

Jayanthi’s nomination as Congress candidate had caused heartburn among a section of partymen with some of them even burning Thangakbalu’s effigy and staging a dharna in front of

his house here.

However,the Election Commission rejected Jayanthi’s nomination citing lack of documents for the assets while filing her affidavits. The nomination of Thangkabalu,who had applied as a dummy candidate,was cleared and he became the party’s official candidate for the Mylapore constituency.

Among those who were expelled are Youth Congress Mylapore district President D Vijayashekar,South Chennai Youth Congress President James G Prakash,Youth Congress Central Chennai General Secretary Ranjan Kumar,Youth Congress Kancheepuram district Vice-President R V Ranjith Kumar,Erode district Youth Congress President J Suresh,Erode district Youth Congress General Secretary Sakthivel and Tiruppur district Youth Congress President Jawahar Babu.

UPSC KEY Have you seen our section dedicated to helping USPC aspirants decode daily news in the context of their exams?

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Political Pulse News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard