Wednesday, Oct 05, 2022

Narendra Modi wins Vadodara seat with record 5.7 lakh votes

A total 11,43,524 valid votes were cast in the election held on April 30.

BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi won ​​the Vadodara Lok Sabha constituency by a victory margin of 5,70,128 votes, probably the highest margin by any candidate in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

​He broke LJP’s  Ram Vilas Paswan’s record of 1989. ​As per the final result for the Vadodara Parliamentary constituency, Modi received  total 8,45,464 votes, against his closest rival, Congress’ Madhusudan Mistry, who got 2,75,336 votes.
A total 11,43,524 valid votes were cast in the election held on April 30. The constituency, which was held by BJP’s Balkrishna Shukla, saw an unprecendented 70.75% votes cast this time, against 49.02% in 2009.
BJP party members had pulled out all stops to ensure record victory margin for Modi. This is the second highest victory margin for any candidate in the history of Indian elections. The record is held by CPI’s Anil Basu who had won the Arambagh seat by a margin of 5,92,502 votes.
Modi broke the second highest victory margin of LJP’s Ramvilas Paswan’s 5,04,448 votes in 1989. As many as 18,053 votes were cast under the “None of the Above” option, the details furnished by the Election Commission revealed.
First published on: 16-05-2014 at 04:35:50 pm
Next Story

Movie review: Godzilla

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments