Follow Us:
Thursday, June 30, 2022

Mani Shankar Aiyar among 63 file nominations in Tamil Nadu

In Madurai, CPI-M candidate D Vikraman filed his nomination papers.

Chennai |
March 29, 2014 9:33:58 pm

Congress leader Mani Shankar Aiyar, anti-nuclear activist and Aam Admi Party’s (AAP) candidate S P Udayakumar were among 63 candidates who filed their papers on the opening day of nominations on Saturday for the April 24 Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu.

“Today being the first day for filing of nominations, 63 persons have filed their nominations for the General Elections to Lok Sabha,” a release from state Chief Electoral Officer said here.

Aiyar, now a Rajya Sabha member, filed his papers from Mayiladuthurai constituency in the Cauvery delta region.

Udayakumar, who has been spearheading the protests against the Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant in Tirunelveli District for nearly three years , filed his nomination from neighbouring Kanyakumari constituency.

Best of Express Premium
Newsmaker | Eknath Shinde: No. 2 after the Thackerays, backer of BJP, MVA...Premium
UPSC Key-June 30, 2022: Why to read ‘Collective Responsibility’ or ‘Inver...Premium
TN Finance Minister Palanivel Thiaga Rajan: ‘Don’t know of a ...Premium
Efforts to estimate poverty from 2011-21 are commendable, given absence o...Premium

His colleagues in People’s Movement Against Nuclear Energy M.P.Jesuraj and M Pushparayan filed their papers for Tuticorin and Tirunelveli constituencies respectively as AAP nominees.

In Madurai, CPI-M candidate D Vikraman filed his nomination papers. Besides, a number of independents also filed nominations.

UPSC KEY Have you seen our section dedicated to helping USPC aspirants decode daily news in the context of their exams?

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest Political Pulse News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard