Follow Us:
Friday, August 19, 2022

PDP’s Mufti Mohammed Sayeed takes oath as J&K CM with full ministerial team

PDP Mufti Mohammad Sayeed has been sworn in as the chief minister for a six-year term.

Mufti sayeed, J&K CM swearing in, modi, mufti, PDP, J&K, jammu and kashmir J&K govt Mufti Mohammad Sayeed (right) and Prime Minister Narendra Modi

In what may be called a great reconciliation between two politically divergent ideologies divided on regional lines, Mufti Mohammed Sayeed on Monday was sworn in as state chief minister along with Deputy Chief Minister Dr Nirmal Singh and 23 other ministers from both PDP and BJP.

READ: Profile: Everything you need to know about PDP patron Mufti Sayeed

With this, there will be no possibility of any further expansion in the Mufti’s ministry as going by the strength of 87-member Legislative Assembly, there can be maximum of 25 ministers including Chief Minister in the state.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah, former president Lal Krishan Advani, union ministers Murli Manohar Joshi, Dr Jitendra Singh, Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar were among various dignitaries including senior BJP and PDP leaders leaders present on the occasion.

Significantly, giving enough signals of their disapproval to the great reconciliation between different political ideologies vis a vis two regions who always looked at each other with suspicion, both the National Conference and Congress including former chief minister Omar Abdullah stayed away from the swearing in function.

Mufti’s ministerial team has 16 cabinet ministers including Deputy Chief Minister and eight ministers of state. Two nominated women MLAs – Priya Sethi and were also sworn in as ministers of state. Peoples Conference chairman Sajjad Lone too was among those newly sworn in cabinet ministers.

While Mufti, Nirmal Singh and others took oath in English, Hindi and Urdu, Lal Singh took oath in Dogri.


Sources say that Mufti initially wanted to begin with a small team, but agreed to have his full team on day one. This idea behind it was to avoid any further speculations and infighting in the party.


Mufti Sayeed…Chief Minister
Nirmal Singh….Deputy Chief Minister

Cabinet ministers

Abdul Rehman Bhat (Veery)
Chander Parkash Ganga
Javed Mustafa Mir
Lal Singh
Abdul Haq Khan
Bali Bhagat
Syed Basharat Ahmed Bukhari
Sukhnandan Choudhary
Choudhary Zulfikar Ali
Sajjad Gani Lone
Haseeb Drabu
Ghulam Nabi Lone
She’d Mohammad Altaf Bukhari
Imran Hussain Ansari
Nayeem Akhtar

Minister of State

Tsering Dorjey
Abdul Majeed Paddar
Sunil Kumar Sharma
Mohammad Ashraf Mir
Abdul Ghani Kohli
Priya Sethi
Pawan Gupta
Ashiya Naqqash


11:54 am | A suave politician, Sayeed, who has changed political allegiance frequently, was at the helm of internal security as Home Minister when militancy reared its head in the Valley triggering the infamous exodus of Kashmiri Pandits in 1990.

11:41 am | A man of perseverance and great survivor, Mufti Mohammed Sayeed has an astute political sense honed by decades of experience in Kashmir politics that has stood him in good stead in crafting a delicate alliance with BJP to return as Chief Minister for the second time.

11:34 am | PDP-BJP were once ideological foes, now partners.

11:25 am | BJP’s Lal Singh takes oath in Dogri language as Minister in J&K Govt.

11:23 am | The framework for the coalition government called Agenda for Alliance was written by PDP’s Haseeb Drabu and BJP’s Ram Madhav after a two month long negotiations where the “two parties managed to arrive on a consensus on various sensitive issues, transcending major ideological differences”.

11:19 am | While PDP was the largest party with 28 seats in the 87 member house, BJP won 25. NC won 15 while Congress managed to secure 12. Sajjad Lone led Peoples Conference – an ally of the BJP – has won two seats.

11:18 am |

11:18 am | This is for the first time that BJP would be part of coalition government in J&K. The PDP-BJP coalition was negotiated because of a fractured verdict during the recent assembly polls.

11:16 am | Abdul Rehman Bhat takes oath as the Minister of State of Jammu and Kashmir.

11:14 am | PDP-BJP govt takes oath in J&K.

11:12 am | Nirmal Singh takes oath as deputy CM.

11:10 am | Mufti Sayeed takes oath as CM.

11:05 am | PM Modi arrives for swearing-in ceremony.

11:03 am | 12 PDP, 11 BJP ministers likely in new cabinet.

11:02 am | PM Narendra Modi to attend swearing-in ceremony.

11:02 am | 25-member cabinet to take oath today.

11:00 am | Nirmal Singh to be sworn-in as deputy CM.

10:55 am | Nirmal Singh: It’s an alliance for governance.

10:38 AM | Next deputy CM Nirmal Singh of BJP reaches the venue


10:33 AM | Peoples Conference chairman Sajad Lone arrives at the swearing-in venue.

Subscriber Only Stories
Explained: Manish Sisodia raided by CBI, what is the alleged scam in Delh...Premium
Delhi Confidential: Rajeev Chandrasekhar takes a break from work for a sp...Premium
Hamid Karzai: ‘After Taliban takeover, I told Indian envoy not to l...Premium
Experts Explain: An India Blockchain PlatformPremium

10:20 am | L K Advani, M L Khattar and Amit Shah reach Jammu for Mufti Mohammad Sayeed’s swearing-in ceremony as CM.

First published on: 01-03-2015 at 10:48:32 am
Next Story

Madhya Pradesh minister Kusum Mehdele wants law allowing people to keep tigers as pets

Featured Stories