Tuesday, Dec 06, 2022

Live Election Results – East: Decimated in Bengal, Left alleges ‘massive’ rigging by TMC

Although BJD has sweeped LS polls in Odisha they have not received any invite to join the BJP-led NDA govt.

Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has sweeped Lok Sabha polls in Odisha, said that it has not received any invite to join the BJP-led NDA government at the Centre. While in Assam, people have clearly rejected anti-incumbency as BJP leads seat count by 10 and Congress trails behind by 1 seat.

In Tripura, CPI (M) is dominating both West and East constituency with a lead of more than 4 lakh votes in each.

6:00 pm: Congress wins the only seat in Mizoram.

5:33 pm: TMC wins 34 out of 42 seats in Bengal, while BJP has won in Asansol and Darjeeling.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key- December 6, 2022: Why you should read ‘Central Asia Region’ or ...Premium
What is OpenAI’s ChatGPT chatbot, why it has become a viral sensationPremium
How a private firm came to be at the centre of Bengaluru data theft casePremium
Why the G7’s oil price cap is unlikely to impact RussiaPremium

5:31 pm: Sikkim Democratic Front candidate Prem Das Rai wins in Sikkim.

5:30 pm: BJD’s Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo wins from Bolangir, Odisha.

5:24 pm: Polling ends as Congress sweeps Manipur, registers victory.

5:21 pm: BJP and Congress secure one vote each in Arunachal Pradesh.


5:16 pm: BJP secures 7 seats to register victory in Assam, followed by Congress with three seats.

5:14 pm: Elated over its performance in West Bengal, the BJP today said it would prepare for the 2016
Assembly election by strengthening the party base in the state capitalising on the performance.

4:56 pm: TMC wins 34 seats out of 42 in Bengal, Left cries foul.



4:40 pm: BJP’s Bappi Lahiri loses to TMC’s Kalyan Banerjee in Srerampur in West Bengal.

4:17 pm: TMC’s Moon Moon Sen wins from Bankura.

3:59 pm: TMC’s Satabdi Roy wins from Birbhum, Bengal.

3:58 pm: TMC’s Renuka Sinha wins from Bengal’s Cooch Behar.

3:25 pm: Dr Thokchom Meinya secures victory from inner Manipur.

3:14 pm: BJP wins 4 out of 14 seats in Assam.

3:05 pm: Saugata Roy of Trinamool Congress wins the Dum Dum Lok Sabha seat by 1,55,631 votes, defeating Asim Dasgupta of CPI(M).

3:04 pm: CPI(M) victorious in Tripura by over four lakh votes. Jitendra Chowdhury wins from Tripura East and Sankar Prasad Datta from Tripura West.

3:00 pm: TMC’s Uma Sareen beats Dr Pulin Bihari Baske of CPI(M) to win from Jhargram, in West Bengal.


2:55 pm: BJP’s SS Ahluwalia wins from Darjeeling beating TMC’s Bhaichung Bhutia.

2:19 pm: BJD wins 11 out of 21 seats in Orissa.

2:10 pm: Naga People’s Front candidate Neiphiu Rio secures victory in one-seat Nagaland.


2:04 pm: Win for BJP candidates from in Gauhati, Lakhimpur and Dibrugarh.

2:00 pm: Congress’ Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury wins from Bahrampur constituency in West Bengal.


1:40 pm: In Tripura West, Sankar Prasad Datta of the CPI (M) is leading by more than 4 lakh votes at 545272 from Congress’ Arunoday Saha with 133379 votes. 

1:38 pm: In Sikkim, Prem Das Rai from Sikkim Democratic Front has received 67872 votes and leading by 22723 votes from Tek Nath Dhakal of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha. 

1:20 pm: Former Lok Sabha Speaker and National People’s Party president Purno Agitok Sangma is leading from the Tura Lok Sabha seat while sitting Congress MP Vincent H Pala is leading from the Shillong seat.

1:10 pm: In Raiganj, Deepa Dasmunshi increased her lead to 13,038 votes over Mohammad Selim of CPI(M).

12:50 pm: Singer Bappi Lahiri from BJP is trailing behind CPI (M) candidate Tirthankar Ray. TMC’s Kalyan Banerjee leads with 82157 votes in Srerampur. 

12:44 pm: TMC’s Moon Moon Sen leading with 212150 votes in Bankura, followed by CPI (M) candidate Acharia Basudeb at 168314 votes. 

12:43 pm: BJP’s Babul Supriyo has got 231536 votes till now, followed by TMC’s Dola Sen at 188608 votes. 

12:36 pm: BJD has swept Assembly and Lok Sabha polls.

12:30 pm: BJP’s Dinesh Trivedi is leading with 313028 votes in Barrackpore constituency followed by CPI (M) candidate Subhashini Ali with 178585 votes.

12:24 pm: CPI (M) leads with over 2 lakh votes in the two seats in Tripura.

12:16 pm: BJD is leading in 17 seats, BJP in three and Congress in one out of 21 Lok Sabha seats in the state.

12:10 pm: Mizoram: INC candidate’s lead increases to 12,292 votes in lobe seat. NOTA gets 4,775 votes so far.

11:56 am: TMC candidate Dr Ratna De wins from Hooghly constituency beating BJP’s Chandan Mitra.

11:52 am: TMC candidate from Arambagh Aparupa Poddar wins from her constituency.

11:38 am: Mizoram: INC candidate leads by 8734 votes in lone seat.

11:33 am: Mizoram: NDA constituent leads over incumbent Congress candidate by 3110 votes. Final results awaited. CPI-M set to retain both Trpura seats. The Left has win both seats continuously since 1996. Congress’ Lalawmpuii Chawngthu wins Hrangturzo assembly by-polls by 2503 votes, becomes Mizoram’s 1st female MLA since 1987.

11:30 am: Assembly: Mizoram set to get 1st female MLA since 1987 as Congress candidate Lalawmpuii Chawngthu leads comfortable in Hrangturzo assembly by-poll.

11:02 am: NDA-backer UDF lading over Congress in Mizoram (which has one seat), but still neck-and-neck.

11:00 am: In Orissa, BJD leading by 11 seats, followed by Congress at 6 and BJP at 3.

10:53 am: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi to resign taking full responsibility for Congress defeat in state.


10:49 am: BJP’s Babul Supriyo leading in Asansol with 87012 votes followed by TMC’s Dola Sen at 62488 votes.

10:47 am: TMC clearly leading by 29 seats, as Congress, BJP and CPI (M) hold onto 5, 4 and 3 seats respectively.

10:45 am: In the Srirampur seat, sitting TMC MP Kalyan Banerjee is leading by 5,461 over CPI(M)’s Tirthankar Roy.

10:39 am: BJP’s SS Ahulwalia leading in Darjeeling by 10689 votes over TMC’s Bhaichung Bhutia.

10:32 am: In Howrah, Prasun Banerjee of TMC is leading over CPI(M)’s Sridip Bhattcharjee by 9,087 votes.

10:25 am: Nine-time MP Basudeb Acharia of CPI(M) is leading by 515 votes over TMC’s Moonmoon Sen in the Bankura seat.

10:20 am: Anti-incumbency in Assam seems to have hit Tarun Gogoi with BJP getting 9 seats and Congress with only two seats.

10:11 am: In Asansol, BJP’s Babul Supriyo is leading by 45649 votes.

9:46 am: In Assam, out of 14 seats, BJP leads by 9 and AIUDF by 3. Congress yet to open account.

9:43 am: TMC’s Sugato Bose is leading by 893 votes over nearest rival Sujan Chakraborty of CPI(M). Tapas Pal of TMC is leading by 216 votes over CPI(M)’s Santanu Jha at Krishnagar. Satabdi Roy of TMC is leading by 953 votes over BJP’s Joy Banerjee in Birbhum seat.

9:33 am: Congress leading in Arunachal Pradesh by one seat.

9:30 am: BJD leading in Orissa by 7 seats, followed by Congress with 4.

9:23 am: TMC leading by 21 seats in Bengal, Congress by 3, BJP and CPI (M) by 2 seats.

9:19 am: BJP leading by 7 seats in Assam, Congress only in one, AUDF gains in two.

9:16 am: CPI (M) leading in both Tripura seats.

9:15 am: Congress leading by one seat in Manipur. BJP yet to open account.

9:10 am: Congress leading in Orissa by 3 seats. Congress’ Amarnath Pradhan leads in Sambalpur.

9:08 am: TMC’s Sunil Kumar Mondal leading in Bardhaman Purba in Bengal.

9:01 am: TMC leading by 14 seats, CPI (M) by 5, Congress by 3.

8:41 am: BJD leads by two, BJP and Congress gain one each seat in Orissa.

8:35 am: West Bengal – Left 14 (+1), TMC 12 (+5)

8:27 am: TMC 9 (+5), Left 5 (-4), Congress 1 (-1)

8:20 am: Left leading with 3 seats, TMC by one

8:16 am: BJD down one seat, Congress up one seat in Orissa.

First published on: 16-05-2014 at 07:22:38 am
Next Story

Election Results 2014 – North: Powered by Modi, BJP sweeps Delhi, Himachal and Uttarakhand

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments