Thursday, Sep 29, 2022

Election Results 2014 – West: Congress swept into Arabian Sea as BJP washes 4 states in saffron

Narendra Modi won Vadodara seat by record margin of 5,70,128 votes.

In Rajasthan, BJP has won all 25 seats while it is leading in one seat. It is a whitewash in Gujarat by BJP. In Maharashtra, BJP has won 23 seats followed by Shiv Sena which has won 18 seats while Congress has won one seat and NCP has won four seats. BJP has won two seats in Goa and the only seat in Dadar and Nagar haveli.

Narendra Modi wins Vadodara seat by record margin of 5,70,128 votes.

# BJP candidate Sanwar Lal Jat wins Ajmer seat.

# Narendra Modi wins Vadodara seat and L K Advani Gandhinagar seat. Paresh Rawal wins from Ahmedabad East seat.

Subscriber Only Stories
How these women are fighting to save a 200-year-old Kolkata housePremium
The Kohinoor, Cullinan and the enduring demand for reparations across the...Premium
Crisis in the Maken: 5 reasons the gen secy in-charge of Rajasthan Congre...Premium
Terror links to training sites to targeted killings: Govt’s case against PFIPremium


# BJP’s Sona Ram is leading from Barmer seat, where Jaswant Singh is contesting as an independent candidate.

# NPP candidate Dr Kirori Lal is ahead from Dausa seat.


# Congress candidate Mohd Azharruding is leading from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur seat.

# In Maharashtra, Sushil Kumar Shinde, Praful Patel, Nilesh Rane and Chaggan Bhujbal are trailing


# BJP Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is leading his Vadodara seat.


# BJP leader L K Advani is leading in Gandhinagar Lok Sabha seat.

# BJP candidates Chauhan Devusinh (Kheda), Ramsinh Rathwa (Chhota Udaipur) and Chudasama Rajeshbhai Naranbhai (junagadh) are leading from Junagadh parliamentary seat in Gujarat.



# BJP’s Arjunlal Meena is leading from Udaipur (ST) in Rajasthan.

The stage is set for counting of votes in Gujarat, Rajasthan, Maharashtra and Goa.

Arrangements have been completed by the Election Commission at 27 centres across Gujarat where counting of votes will take place for 26 Lok Sabha seats. Those in the fray from Gujarat include BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, who contested from Vadodara, besides party veteran L K Advani from his traditional seat of Gandhinagar. In all 334 candidates are in the fray for 26 seats in the state, where the main fight is between Congress and the BJP. Over 63.31 per cent people of total 4.05 crore voters had exercised their franchise in the state on April 30.

In Maharashtra, tight security arrangements have been made ahead of the counting of votes for all 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra where 897 candidates are in the fray. The results will decide electoral fortunes of political biggies like Union ministers Sushilkumar Shinde(Solapur), Praful Patel (Bhandara-Gondiya), BJP leaders Nitin Gadkari (Nagpur) and Gopinath Munde (Beed), NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s daughter Supriya Sule (Baramati) and former Chief Minister Ashok Chavan (Nanded) of Congress. Polling in the state was held in three phases on April 10, 17 and 24.

Lok Sabha poll battle would be litmus test for PCC president and Union Minister Sachin Pilot, who contested from Ajmer, had
faced the tough battle against BJP Minister Sanwarlal Jat. Counting of votes would start for 25 parliamentary constituencies of Rajasthan, where polling took place in two phases on April 17 and 24. 63 per cent of 4.29 crore electors cast their votes in two phases of polling.


A total of 320 candidates including 25 each from BJP and Congress contested the elections.

(These were  the data available till 8 pm)

First published on: 16-05-2014 at 07:27:36 am
Next Story

Live Election Results – East: Decimated in Bengal, Left alleges ‘massive’ rigging by TMC

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments