Follow Us:
Sunday, September 19, 2021

Nagaland assembly elections: All you need to know

In Nagaland, the Naga People's Front, led by TR Zeliang, is at the helm of the 60-member Nagaland Assembly.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: January 18, 2018 5:36:43 pm
Nagaland Chief Minister TR Zeliang (Source: Twitter/@TRZeliang)

The Election Commission on Thursday announced the poll dates for the 60-member Nagaland Assembly. The state will vote on February 27 (Tuesday) and counting will be held on March 3, 2018. The results will be declared on the same day. The term of Nagaland legislative assembly is ending on March 13.

In Nagaland, the Naga People’s Front, led by TR Zeliang, is at the helm of the 60-member Nagaland Assembly. The BJP won four seats while the JD(U) bagged one in the last election in 2013. The Democratic Alliance of Nagaland is in power in the state led by the NPF and supported by the BJP. The saffron party, which is trying to make inroads into the state, is in a better position than Congress which seems to be losing its ground as the main opposition party.

Internal tussles in the Naga People’s Front might also end up helping the BJP. Former Nagaland chief minister and Lok Sabha parliamentarian Neiphiu Rio has formed a new political party, breaking ties with the NPF, and may even join hands with the BJP.

In July last year, 36 NPF MLAs joined TR Zeliang’s camp to oust then Chief Minister Shurhozelie Liezietsu, and the two camps signed a document to reconcile and reunite on December 9.

The vexed Naga issue could play a crucial role in the upcoming elections. Though the Framework Agreement for the Naga issue was signed in August 2015, a final settlement is yet to be reached.

Here is all you need to know about Nagaland Assembly elections:

Date of election: February 27
Counting of votes: March 3
Chief Minister: TR Zeliang
Last assembly election results:  The last elections for the state assembly were held on 23 February 2013. The ruling Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) won the election with a majority. It won 37 seats. BJP got 2 seats while UDP secured 1. Only 8 Independents won the seats. The polls reported a 90.19 per cent of voter turnout.

The full list of assemblies:
Dimapur-II (ST)
Dimapur-III (ST)
Ghaspani-I (ST)
Ghaspani-II (ST)
Tenning (ST)
Peren (ST)
Western Angami (ST)
Kohima Town (ST)
Northern Angami-I (ST)
Northern Angami-II (ST)
Tseminyu (ST)
Pughoboto (ST)
Southern Angami-I (ST)
Southern Angami-II (ST)
Pfutsero (ST)
Chizami (ST)
Chazouba (ST)
Phek (ST)
Meluri (ST)
Tuli (ST)
Arkakong (ST)
Impur (ST)
Angetyongpang (ST)
Mongoya (ST)
Aonglenden (ST)
Mokokchung Town (ST)
Koridang (ST)
Jangpetkong (ST)
Alongtaki (ST)
Akuluto (ST)
Atoizu (ST)
Suruhoto (ST)
Aghunato (ST)
Zunheboto (ST)
Satakha (ST)
Tyui (ST)
Wokha (ST)
Sanis (ST)
Bhandari (ST)
Tizit (ST)
Wakching (ST)
Tapi (ST)
Phomching (ST)
Tehok (ST)
Mon Town (ST)
Aboi (ST)
Moka (ST)
Tamlu (ST)
Longleng (ST)
Noksen (ST)
Longkhim Chare (ST)
Tuensang Sadar-I (ST)
Tuensang Sadar-II (ST)
Tobu (ST)
Noklak (ST)
Thonoknyu (ST)
Shamator Chessore (ST)
Seyochung Sitimi (ST)
Pungro Kiphire (ST)

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest North East India News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by