Follow Us:
Thursday, July 09, 2020

Four NPP MLAs to continue to support BJP govt in Manipur: Himanta Biswa

Biren Singh's government in Manipur was plunged into crisis recently after four NPP and three BJP MLAs withdrew their support from the government.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: June 25, 2020 12:39:40 am
An NPP delegation led by Meghalaya Chief Minister Sangma Conrad and Dy Chief Minister of Manipur Sri Y Joy Kumar Singh met J P Nadda today in New Delhi.

Four NPP MLAs, including Manipur Deputy CM Y Joykumar, were brought back to the fold after a meeting with Union Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP chief J P Nadda on Wednesday, Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said.

The NPP MLAs had withdrawn their support to the N Biren Singh-led government on June 17.

In his tweet, Sarma said, “NPP delegation led by Conrad Sangma and Dy Chief Minister of Manipur Y Joykumar Singh met Honble President of BJP Shri JP Nadda today in New Delhi. NPP will continue to support the BJP govt in Manipur for the development of Manipur.”

The exact conditions of the reconciliation were unclear as the NPP leaders, including Meghalaya CM and NPP president Conrad Sangma, were unavailable for comment.

The Manipur government, the BJP’s first government in the Northeast which was formed in 2017 after a closely contested election with the Congress, was in turmoil when the NPP MLAs withdrew their support. The same day, three BJP MLAs resigned to join the Congress while a TMC MLA and an independent MLA withdrew their support from the government in order to support the Congress in its claim to move a no-confidence motion.

On June 18, former Congress CM Okram Ibobi Singh wrote to Governor Najma Heptullah demanding a special Assembly session to move the no-confidence motion.

The BJP flew in its troubleshooter Sarma and Sangma to assuage the disgruntled MLAs. After being taken to Guwahati on Tuesday, the NPP MLAs were taken to New Delhi on Wednesday to meet the Home Minister.

In 2017, the Congress had emerged as the single largest party with 28 MLAs, and the BJP had 21 MLAs. The support of its allies, the NPF (with four MLAs) and the NPP’s four legislators were therefore crucial for the BJP to form the government.

The chasm between Chief Minister N Biren Singh and his ministers and own party members has been growing over the past two years.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest North East India News, download Indian Express App.