Follow Us:
Saturday, August 13, 2022

Manipur: ECI gives nod for by-poll in three more constituencies

Wangoi, Saitu and Singhat will go to polls on November 7.

Written by Jimmy Leivon | Imphal |
Updated: October 5, 2020 9:42:39 pm
Manipur bypolls, Manipur elections, Manipur bypolls november, Wangoi, Saitu, Singhat, manipur news, election commission, indian expressOf the seven seats going to bypolls, six were held by the BJP and one by the Samajwadi Party. The BJP is yet to name its candidates for Deoria Assembly seat.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Monday announced by-election dates for three more Assembly Constituencies (ACs) of Manipur, namely Wangoi, Saitu and Singhat.

Following the announcement, the election Code of Conduct came into effect in the area falling under Wangoi constituency and the entire district of Kangpokpi and Churachandpur, said a release signed by chief electoral officer (CEO), Manipur PK Singh.

The three constituencies will go to poll on November 7 along with two other constituencies, Lilong and Wangjing Tentha, the schedule for which had been announced on September 29.

On September 4, the ECI had declared five constituencies as “clear vacant” and due for by-election. They are Wangoi, Wangjing Tentha, Lilong, Saitu, and Singhat. However, on September 29, it announced by-poll schedule for only two constituencies, Lilong and Wangjing Tentha. The Manipur CEO clarified that three of the five constituencies had encountered some legal issues.

Subscriber Only Stories
Self-regulation: Divide among Big Tech firms on way forwardPremium
Delhi Confidential: At Environment Ministry, special days are celebrated ...Premium
Salman Rushdie at Express Idea Exchange in 2013: ‘Yes, I would write The ...Premium
Explained: Power, capital goods, metals, fire up small and mid-cap stocksPremium

On September 30, the CEO wrote a letter to ECI with a request to conduct by-polls in Wangoi, Saitu and Singhat following an application from the former MLAs of the three ACs. Against this backdrop, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh had said that the state will appeal to the ECI to give permission for by-polls in a handful of the Assembly constituencies that do not directly comes under the purview of stay orders or similar ones in the High Court or the Supreme Court.

Altogether 13 Assembly seats are lying vacant in Manipur after the resignation and disqualification of MLAs of the respective constituencies, election petitions for eight are pending in the High Court.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest North East India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 05-10-2020 at 09:37:49 pm

Featured Stories