Thursday, Oct 06, 2022

TOP Honours

Dabangg,Udaan,Ishqiya and Band Baaja Baaraat led the tally,and newcomers stole the thunder at the Karbonn Mobiles 17th Annual Star Screen Awards.

Dabangg,Udaan,Ishqiya and Band Baaja Baaraat led the tally,and newcomers stole the thunder at the Karbonn Mobiles 17th Annual Star Screen Awards.

That 2010 was the year of first-time filmmakers was proved beyond doubt at the Karbonn Mobiles 17th Annual Star Screen Awards. The winners were announced at a glittering ceremony amidst a star-studded gathering at the MMRDA Grounds in suburban Mumbai on January 6. The top four winning films this year are all directed by debutants. Interestingly,all these films belong to completely different genres. While the formulaeic Dabangg directed by Abhinav Singh Kashyap leads the pack with six awards,the coming-of-age Udaan was directed by first-timer Vikramaditya Motwane,the dark comedy Ishqiya helmed by debutant Abhishek Chaubey and the delightful entertainer Band Baaja Baaraat turned out by Maneesh Sharma netted four trophies each. It’s heartening that the millennium’s first decade was marked by a fresh wave of filmmaking and perspective,and has been wholeheartedly embraced by both the audiences and the film fraternity.

Dabangg may not have got its director Abhinav any trophies despite being nominated for two awards but it was instrumental in getting its lead pair their career-first awards. Salman Khan who turned out a paisa-vasool performance as Chulbul Pandey bagged the Best Actor (Male) Award,his first ever in 22 years,while his co-star Sonakshi Sinha walked away with the Most Promising Newcomer (Female) Award for her confident debut. Just goes to show that when it comes to churning out masala entertainers,even newbies can hit bull’s-eye at first go. The rom-com Band Baaja Baaraat is another example of a newcomer offering the perfect mix of drama,comedy,song and dance. The man who helmed this commerical outing,Maneesh Sharma,deservedly won the Most Promising Debut Director Award. Band Baaja…,which made Delhi lingo like syapa,kaand and biness popular,earned its writer Habib Faisal the Best Dialogue trophy. The male lead Ranveer Singh,also a debutant,won the Most Promising Newcomer (Male) Award for his unassuming and cool act. An overwhelmed Ranveer burst into tears at his triumph,prompting Shah Rukh Khan to comment good-naturedly, “Tu kyoon ro raha hai,rona to humein chahiye,ab hamara kya hoga?(Why are you shedding tears,we should be crying thinking about our future?)”.

Emotional moments were aplenty on stage. Composer Wajid,who bagged the Best Music Award for Dabangg was moved to tears because it his first ever award in his and partner-brother Sajid’s 12-year career. In his speech,he thanked everybody connected to Dabangg including director Abhinav and superstar Salman for the well-earned victory. This year,there were two winners in the Best Music category with the composer trio Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy also bagging the honour for My Name Is Khan. The movie also walked away with the coveted Ramnath Goenka Award for its unconventional subject and Karan Johar’s courage of imagination. But it was when King Khan’s name was announced as the Best Actor (Male) Popular Choice for the film that Karan couldn’t contain his joy. He broke into an applause and kissed Khan before the latter went onto the stage to collect his award. A touching moment indeed!

Subscriber Only Stories
Remembering Indian tennis great, Naresh Kumar, who passed away on Septemb...Premium
How Carlsen would need to cheat just once in a game of chess to be invinc...Premium
IAS officer’s initiative scales up students’ learning level in Sangli sch...Premium
Rising rates after four repo hikes: Turbulent times ahead for home loan s...Premium

It was nostalgia time when hosts Shah Rukh Khan and Shahid Kapoor paid a tribute to four legendary actresses – the charismatic Asha Parekh,sexy Zeenat Aman,Dream Girl Hema Malini and the evergreen Rekha as part of Screen completing 60 years in the business. The beauties regaled the audience by shaking a leg to their popular tracks and playfully interacting with their charming hosts. They were deservedly greeted with a standing ovation.

When Omkar Das Manikpuri-better known as Natha of Peepli [Live-went to collect the Best Ensemble Cast Award,he won many a hearts with his simple thanksgiving speech in rural Hindi. Rural and small-town India,in fact,was in the forefront as far as choices of the year are concerned. While Dabangg,Raajneeti and Udaan were set in small towns,Peepli [Live and Ishqiya had rustic backdrops. And in a year of surprises,mainstream actors like Ranbir Kapoor and Vidya Balan tried out unconventional roles with negative shades in Raajneeti and Ishqiya respectively. Vidya,who is fast turning out be an actress known for her unusual choices,reaped rich rewards. Her outing as a conniving widow in Ishqiya has won her the Best Actor (Female) Award for her brilliant performance,while Katrina Kaif who for the longest has been known as glamour doll won her first award as Best Actor(Female) in Popular Choice category for Raajneeti and Tees Maar Khan. As Jury Chairperson,Amol Palekar,said,”This was a year where boundaries were pushed in several departments,merging mainstream taste with niche sensibilities. This merger had an added dimension,in that the so-called boutique cinema won audience patronage.”

Well,as they say,bring it on!


* Dabangg (6) – Best actor (male),Best music,Best playback singer (female),Best action,Best choreography,Most promising newcomer (female)


* Udaan (4) – Best film,Best director,Best actor in a negative role,Best child artiste

* Ishqiya (4) – Best actor (female),Best actor in a supporting role (male),Best playback singer (male),Best lyrics

* Band Baaja Baarat (4) – Most promising newcomer (male),Most promising debut director,Best dialogue,Best editing


* My Name Is Khan (3) – Ramnath Goenka Award,Best Actor (Male) Popular Choice,Best Music

* Raajneeti (3) – Best Screenplay,Best Background Music,Best Actor (Female) Popular Choice

* Guzaarish (2) – Best Actor In A Supporting Role (Female),Best Cinematography

Keeping Count

* Salman Khan who has had a glorious career of 22 years won the Best Actor (Jury) award for Dabangg this year.

* Vidya Balan has won three Screen awards. Her first award was for Most Promising Newcomer (Female) for her impressive debut in Parineeta in 2005. Last year she won the Best Actor (Female) award for Paa and she followed it up this year with Ishqiya.


* Shah Rukh Khan had so far won five Best Actor Awards starting with Ram Jaane (1995) followed by a hattrick of awards between 2002 – ‘04 for Devdas,Chalte Chalte and Veer-Zaara respectively. After a gap of three years,he notched another Best Actor award for Chak De! India (2007). This year,he wins his sixth trophy as the Best Actor-Popular Choice for My Name Is Khan.

* Katrina Kaif,who has been winning various online polls had bagged the Screen Entertainer of the Year Award last year. This time,

she bagged the Best Actor (Female) Award – Popular Choice.


* Ajay Devgn first won the Best Actor award for Zakham in 1998. The actor followed it up with the same award for Company in 2002. This year,he won the Best Performer of the Year Award having given four hits in a row – Atithi.. Tum Kab Jaoge?,Raajneeti,Once Upon A Time In Mumbaai and Golmaal 3.

First published on: 14-01-2011 at 06:31:54 pm
Next Story

‘Wages spiking in India,efficiency not’

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments