Follow Us:
Friday, July 20, 2018

Scientist who quit ISRO gets CABE post

Narasimha is among the six eminent academicians/ scientists nominated to the CABE

Written by Anubhuti Vishnoi | New Delhi | Published: April 17, 2012 12:33:59 am

Eminent aerospace scientist Prof Roddam Narasimha may have quit ISRO in protest against the government blacklisting his former colleagues over the Devas-Antrix deal,but that does not mean that he has fallen out of favour in government circles. Narasimha has been nominated to the Central Advisory Board of Education (CABE) that has been reconstituted,The Indian Express has learnt.

Narasimha is among the six eminent academicians/ scientists nominated to the CABE by the Human Resource Development Ministry. Others in the category are Prof Goverdhan Mehta,president of International Council of Science Union,sociologist Andre Beteille,historian Ramchandra Guha,Prof Madhav Gadgil from Indian Institute of Science,Bangalore,and writer U R Ananthamurthy.

The PMO has approved of the new CABE,sources confirmed. The CABE was last reconstituted in 2004. The reconstituted CABE will meet here in June to consider the proposed common entrance exam,dropping of National Textbook Council Bill,and other issues.

Besides Ananthamuty and Beteille,who have have been nominated for a consecutive second term,educationist Vinod Raina,activist Teesta Seetlavad and Dr Mithu Alur,founder chairperson of Spastics Society of India,have also got a second term. However,lyricist Javed Akhtar has had no such luck. Creative arts are now represented by playwright-actor-director Girish Karnad and film director Shyam Benegal. Shabnam Hashmi is also on the Board.

School education is represented by Arun Kapur,director of Vasant Valley Foundation,Om Prakash Singh,president of UP madhyamik Shiksha Sansthan,Aditi Jain,chairperson of Pragyavataran Educational Society and Gaia schools,besides Raina. Minority educational institutions are represented by P A Inamdar,president of Maharashtra Cosmopolitan Education Society,while industry finds representation through NIIT chairman Rajendra Pawar,Shiv Nadar,CMD of HCL Technologies,Analjit Singh,founder of Max hospitals,and Dr S Ramadorai,advisor to PM on National Council for Skill Development.

Former UGC chairman S K Thorat,David Syiemlieh,V-C of Rajiv Gandhi University,Itanagar,Dr Mary E John,senior fellow Centre for Women’s Development Studies,and S P Singh,former V-C of Guru Nanak Dev University,will represent ‘special interests’ at CABE.

Vice-chancellors Dinesh Singh from Delhi University,Pradip Narayan Ghosh from Jadavpur University,Sanjay Chahande from Pune University,A N Rai from North East Hill University,Devang Khakhar,Director of IIT-Bombay,P Balram,Director of Indian Institute of Science Bangalore,Bimal K Roy,Director of Indian Statistical Institute,are among those who will be part of the CABE.

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App