Sunday, Oct 02, 2022

Sachin Pilot,Ajay Maken and CP Joshi might lose their Lok Sabha seats?

Party wiped out in Sachin and Maken’s domains, fares poorly in C P Joshi and Natarajan’s.

In bastions of MPs across states,the Congress Sunday suffered severe setbacks,in some cases a near washout.

In Rajasthan,it lost all eight assembly seats in union minister Sachin Pilot’s parliamentary constituency of Ajmer,and won only Ashok Gehlot’s seat out of 10 in Chandresh Kumari Katoch’s Jodhpur. MoS Jitendra Singh’s Alwar saw the Congress lose all eight assembly seats.

In AICC general secretary C P Joshi’s Bhilwara,the Congress won two out of eight assembly seats. Joshi failed to make an impact in Rajsamand either — he had earlier contested from Nathdwara there — with the Congress losing all four seats in that district.

In MP,Jyotiraditya Scindia,put in charge of the Congress campaign committee in September,had mixed results,depending on the yardstick. In his Guna constituency,the Congress did well,winning five of eight assembly seats (Pichhore,Kolaras,Bamori,Chander and Mungaoli). But he was expected to deliver his best results in his family stronghold of Gwalior-Chambal,and there the Congress had to settle for 10 of 34 seats.

Subscriber Only Stories
From The Explained editor: The ban on PFI, forests at night, and free gra...Premium
From the Opinion Editor: An election for the Congress partyPremium
From Nehru to JP, the political leaders mentored by GandhiPremium
Uttarakhand resort murder: Amid questions within, BJP may revamp Dhami go...Premium

For MP Meenakshi Natarajan,who is known to be close to Rahul Gandhi,her Mandsaur Lok Sabha seat’s eight segments saw a near-washout of the Congress. The Congress lost seven,winning only Suwasra. Former union minister Kantilal Bhuria’s Ratlam Lok Sabha constituency,comprising eight assembly segments,too saw a total Congress wipeout. Bhuria is also the state Congress chief.

In union minister Kamal Nath’s Chindwara parliamentary seat,the Congress won three of seven assembly segments,all reserved constituencies — Amarwara (ST),Parasia (SC) and Pandhurna (ST).

Congress MP Premchand Guddu,who had been accused of manipulating the distribution of tickets to wangle a ticket for his son Ajit Borasi,whom the party was against fielding,could not manage a victory for him. Leader of the opposition in MP Ajay Singh fared better with the Congress winning three of seven seats in Sidhi and Singrauli districts. He could not ensure a win for his brother-in-law though. In the last assembly the BJP had six of these seven seats.


Former PCC chief Suresh Pachauri,who is believed to have ensured tickets for many candidates,could not win his own election.

In Delhi,MP Ajay Maken’s New Delhi constituency saw Congress defeats in all 10 assembly segments. In Sandeep Dikshit’s East Delhi seat,the party won just two of 10 seats —Okhla and Gandhi Nagar.

In Chhattisgarh,the only state where the Congress gave the BJP a fight,it managed a face-saving performance in Charan Das Mahant’s Korba,winning half its assembly seats.

First published on: 10-12-2013 at 03:46:09 am
Next Story

SBI gets govt nod for Rs 9,576-cr QIP issue,with riders

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments