Pranab likely to contest from Jangipur seat

Pranab likely to contest from Jangipur seat

Although the Congress is yet to bring out its list of candidates because of bickering over three seats — Murshidabad,Malda North and Darjeeling.....

Although the Congress is yet to bring out its list of candidates because of bickering over three seats — Murshidabad,Malda North and Darjeeling — party insiders say Union External Affairs Minister Pranab Mukherjee will contest from Jangipur,Subrata Mukherjee from Bankura,Deepa Dasmunsi from Raigunj,Adhir Chowdhury from Berhampur and Abu Hasem Khan Choudhury,brother of the late Ghani Khan Choudhury,from Malda South.

In addition,Asit Mal is expected to contest from Bolpur,Shantiram Mahato from Purulia,Nargis Begum from Burdwan-Durgapur,Amrit Hansda from Jhargram and Sukh Bilas Verma from Jalpaiguri. The fate of Rahul Gandhi’s ‘Aam Aadmi Ka Sipahi’,Mahua Moitra,is also hanging in the balance as Congress is yet to decide over granting her a ticket.

Congress leaders in Delhi are yet to decide on Darjeeling,Malda North and Murshidabad seats. Mannan Hussain,who won last time from Murshidabad,was the first choice from that constituency,but his bete noir Adhir Choudhury stood in his way by recently sending a report against him to Congress high command. For the Malda North seat,the Congress is yet to decide between Sabitri Mitra and Mousam Noor,now an MLA.

Meanwhile,tension is brewing between Congress and Trinamool members in some areas. In Krishnanagar,where TMC candidate and Tollywood star Tapas Paul has started campaigning,few Congress workers have extended their support. An exasperated Pal took a break in his campaign schedule to visit the chairman of Krishnanagar municipality and Congress leader Asim Saha,but this failed to end the deadlock.


“There have been no instructions given to us by the district Congress leadership regarding the alliance. If that does not come we cannot work for Trinamool,” said Asim Saha.

In seats like Kolkata North East and Diamond Harbour,where Sudip Bandopadhyaya and Somen Mitra are contesting on TMC tickets,Congress workers are expected to remain aloof,since both leaders broke away from the party recently to join Mamata.

Interestingly,Abdul Karim Choudhury,Trinamool chief of North Dinajpur district,sent his resignation to Mamata Banerjee on Saturday and decided to contest the Lok Sabha polls as an independent candidate. “My workers have built a strong base in Raigunj in the past few years. I have been with Mamata Banerjee since the formation of TMC in 1999. In Raigunj we had a good chance on our own and I cannot support Deepa Dasmunsi a candidate from the Congress,” he said.