National awards acknowledge Bollywood of new ideas

National awards acknowledge Bollywood of new ideas

Top honours for Paan Singh Tomar and Irrfan; Vicky Donor and Dekh India Circus too score

Paan Singh Tomar has been judged best film at the 60th National Film Awards,an acknowledgment of Bollywood’s efforts to move towards films driven by script and performance after years of being dominated by big-budget entertainers and star power.

And Irrfan,who plays the title role in Tigmanshu Dhulia’s true-life tale of an athlete-turned-dacoit,has won the best actor award,a first for the actor though he had been conferred with the Padma Shri in 2011. He shares the national film award with Vikram Gokhale for the Marathi film Anumati.

The trend of exploring new ideas and themes was a pleasant surprise,jury chairman Basu Chatterjee told The Indian Express after announcing the awards. “It was hard to believe… the ideas that filmmakers are exploring. Totally refreshing. For instance,a film like Dhag,which depicts the lives of those living in a crematorium,was so stark that it touched my heart. So was Bengali film Shabdh,” he said. Noting that “it is a great leap in terms of quality,” he said the jury had a hard task picking one single outstanding performance.

The list of winners is dominated by Bollywood films,with 19 in the main category,followed by Malayalam with 10 and Marathi with 5. Shoojit Sircar’s Vicky Donor bagged three top honours — best popular film for wholesome entertainment (shared with Ustad Hotel,Malayalam),besides best supporting actor (Annu Kapoor,who plays a doctor running a fertility centre) and supporting actress (Dolly Ahluwalia,who shares it with Kalpana for Malayalam film Thanichalla Njan,also best feature film on national integration).


“The awards this year are an indication of the increasing pan-India appeal of Hindi films,” said Vicky Donor director Sircar. “This was a film with no big stars. I am happy for Annu Kapoor and Dolly Ahluwalia and my congratulations to writer Juhi Chaturvedi.”

Dhag won Shivaji Lotan Patil the best director award. Usha Jadhav was judged best actress for the same film,where she plays a rustic housewife in the setting of a cremation ground. Vidya Balan,best actress last year,was among the contenders this year,too,for her role in Kahaani. Though Balan missed out,Kahaani fetched awards to director Sujoy Ghosh (best original screenplay),Namrata Rao (editing),actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui (special jury) and Prasoon Joshi (lyrics).

Siddiqui won the special jury award for “niche for himself in a variety of films” — Kahaani,Talaash and Dekh India Circus — while Rituparno Ghosh won the same award for Bengali film Chitrangada,“for his excellent grasp of the medium of cinema and his multi-faceted versality”.

Umesh Shukla’s OMG: Oh My God! won him the best adapted screenplay award. “The vast variety of subjects these films address demonstrate the strengthening of content in Bollywood,” he said.

Dekh India Circus,directed by Mangesh Hadawale,is a depiction of rural India’s struggle to access the supposed economic success of India. It bagged the best children’s film besides Siddiqui’s special jury award. And nine-year-old Virendra Pratap was adjudged best child artiste,an award shared with Minon for 101 Chodiyangal (Malayalam). The latter film has also been judged best debut film of a director (Sidhartha Shiva),along with Chittagong by NASA scientist-turned-filmmaker Bedabrata Pain.

Parineeti Chopra found a special jury mention for her performance in Ishaqzaade and Siddiqui for Gangs of Wasseypur. “I never thought I would win the biggest honour in the country for my first lead role. This humbles me,” she said.

The awards will be presented in New Delhi on May 3.

60th National Film Awards

Best feature film:

Paan Singh Tomar

Best director: Shivaji Lotan Patil (Dhag,Marathi)

Best actor: Irrfan Khan (Paan Singh Tomar); Vikram Gokhale (Anumati,Marathi)

Best actress: Usha Jadhav (Dhag,Marathi)

Best supporting actor: Annu Kapoor (Vicky Donor)

Best supporting actress: Dolly Alhuwalia (Vicky Donor); Kalpana (Thanichalla Njan,Malyalam).

Best child artiste: Virendra Pratap (Dekh Indian Circus),Minon (101 Chodiyangal,Malayalam)

Best popular film providing wholesome entertainment: Vicky Donor; Ustad Hotel


Best feature film on national integration: Thanichalla Njan

Best film on social issues: Spirit (Malayalam)

Best non-feature film:

Shepherds of Paradise (Gojri,Urdu)

Best film on environment conservation: Black Forest (Malayalam)

Best animation film:

Delhi Safari

Best investigative film:

Inshallah Kashmir

Best children’s film: Dekh

Indian Circus

Best debut film by a director: Chittagong by Bedabrata Pain; 101 Chodiyangal by Sidhartha Shiva

Best original screenplay: Sujoy Ghosh (Kahaani)

Best adapted screenplay: Bhavesh Mandalia and Umesh Shukhla (Oh My God!).

Best editing: Namrata Rao


Best dialogue: Anjali Menon (Ustad Hotel)

Best special effects:

Eega (Telugu)

Best music direction:

Kaliyachan (Malayalam); Samhita (Marathi)

Best male playback singer: Shankar Mahadevan (Bolo Na,inChittagong).

Best female playback singer: Aarti Anklekar Tikekar (Palakein Naa Moondoon,in Samhita)

Best lyricist: Prasoon Joshi (Bolo Na)

Best choreography:

Pandit Birju Maharaj for Viswaroopam

Best book on Cinema:

Silent Cinema in India – A pictorial journey

Best film Critic: P S Radhakrishnan (Malayalam)


Special jury award: Rituparno Ghosh (Chitrangadha,Bengali); Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Kahaani,Gangs of Wasseypur,Dekh Indian Circus,Talaash)