NAC links

NAC links

It has been over two months since activist Aruna Roy quit the National Advisory Council

NAC links

It has been over two months since activist Aruna Roy quit the National Advisory Council (NAC),but the body’s website seems reluctant to let her go. While the ‘Constitution of NAC’ link on the site’s homepage is updated,the link on all other pages throws up the old list,which includes Roy’s name but not newly-inducted member Virginius Xaxa.


While Congress MPs have been showing up in full strength in Lok Sabha for the past two days to hear party president Sonia Gandhi’s speech on the food security Bill,the discussions have not taken place ostensibly because of sloganeering Andhra MPs’ presence in the well of the House to protest against the creation of Telangana state. The Congress leadership is reluctant to rein in party MPs from the region lest only the TDP should get credit for disruptions in Parliament on this issue. The ruling side’s floor managers have been requesting Speaker Meira Kumar to “name” the TDP MPs leading to their suspension for the day. She has not taken any decision so far. The House reassembles on August 19 and the ruling party may only be pleased to get the ambitious legislation passed on the late Rajiv Gandhi’s birth anniversary on August 20.


The list of gallantry awards winners of the Air Force,announced ahead of the Independence Day,was the last to be recommended by Air Chief Marshal N A K Browne,given that the officer is to retire in December. This year,five officers have been awarded Vayu Sena Medals for gallantry. In the list is Squadron Leader Omar Browne,son of the Air Chief,for safely landing a Su 30 MKI fighter that experienced technical difficulties while on a sortie.


Ahead of the Independence Day celebrations,the Cabinet Secretariat shot off a communication across ministries and government departments on August 13,2013 pointing out that the Cabinet Secretary was quite concerned about low attendance at several events. It added for good measure that all those invited — which include all officials from the rank of Under Secretary and above — are expected to show up for the Independence Day event.