Follow Us:
Saturday, July 21, 2018

MNS gets its first mayor in Nashik

Nashik has given Raj Thackeray’s MNS its first mayor in the state

Written by Express News Service | Mumbai | Published: March 16, 2012 12:27:31 am

Nashik has given Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) its first mayor in the state.

The MNS had emerged as the single largest party with 40 seats in the civic body elections held last month. Though it had fallen short of the majority mark of 62 seats in the 122-member corporation,none of the other parties had the required numbers to elect a mayor on their own.

On Thursday,14 BJP corporators voted in favour of MNS candidate Yatin Wagh to ensure his win,as NCP-Congress corporators abstained and Shiv Sena boycotted the proceedings.

Wagh polled 56 votes,getting the support of two Jan Surajya Party members too. His contest was against CPM candidate Tanaji Jaibhave who got three votes.

“We thank BJP and Jan Surajya for respecting public mandate for us. We are committed to Nashik’s development. Why the Sena did not support us when we supported them in Thane is something they have to answer,” said Bala Nandgaonkar,MNS group leader in the Legislative Assembly.

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App