Follow Us:
Friday, September 24, 2021

Local politicians face warrants for ‘role’ in Muzaffarnagar violence

BSP legislators among 16 who get non-bailable warrants.

Written by Apurva | New Delhi |
September 19, 2013 2:58:14 am

A court in Muzaffarnagar on Wednesday issued non-bailable warrants against 16 people including MPs,MLAs and community leaders for allegedly inciting violence in the district last week. At least 43 people were killed in clashes between Jats and Muslims in the town and surrounding villages. An estimated 43,000 people have fled their homes fearing more attacks.

If found guilty,I am ready for harshest punishment: Azam Khan

While no arrests have been made yet,senior police officers said the 16 were booked for making inflammatory speeches at two demonstrations organised on August 30 and September 7. The Muzaffarnagar police had earlier registered FIRs against several leaders for violating prohibitory orders.

Muzaffarnagar riots: 4 BJP MLAs,Congress leader booked for inciting mob

“The people against whom NBWs have been issued were part of either a Muslim demonstration on August 30 or the Jat mahapanchayat on September 7. The administration had disallowed both and prohibitory orders had been issued,” an officer said.

Related: JD(U) MP detained,prevented from visiting riot-hit Muzaffarnagar

Of the 25 assembly constituencies that saw either violence or an exodus of people,the ruling Samajwadi Party has MLAs in five: Muzaffarnagar,Budhana,Siwalkhas,Hastinapur and Deoband. No warrants have been issued against any SP leader anywhere in the affected region.

Sources in the police said that a crack team of 20 police personnel from across the state had been constituted to investigate the build-up to the violence that began on September 7.

Muzaffarnagar violence: BSP demands Akhilesh Yadav’s resignation

“This team has also been tasked with making the necessary arrests,including those against whom warrants have been issued. The team has the best investigators in the state,drawn from all ranks,” a senior officer said. He said the team had been split into three clusters of 10 personnel each.

Political parties could be behind Muzaffarnagar violence: Shinde

The list of 16 includes an MP — Kadir Rana — and two MLAs —Noor Salim and Maulana Jameel — from the BSP,and four BJP MLAs: Sangeet Som,Bhartendu Singh,Hukam Singh and Suresh Rana.

A former MLA each from the Congress and BJP — Saedduzzaman and Swami Omvesh respectively — are on the list. Warrants are out against farmer and community leaders Naresh Tikait,Rakesh Tikait,Harpal,Chanderpal,Bittoo,Naushad Qureshi and Ehsan Qureshi.

Kadir Rana: A first-time sitting BSP MP from Muzaffarnagar,Rana was once an MLC,elected with support from the RLD,and was even an MLA from the Samajwadi Party before he shifed allegiance. He has been booked for making inflammatory speeches at the August 30 demonstration in Muzaffarnagar city.

Noor Salim: First-time MLA Salim was allegedly present at the August 30 demonstration. Salim is Rana’s nephew,and was given a ticket on the latter’s recommendation. Salim is MLA from Charthawal.

Sangeet Som: The first-timer from Sardana constituency has been booked for making inflammatory speeches at the mahapanchayat. The police suspect he helped circulate a video that purportedly showed two Jat boys being lynched in Kawaal village near Muzaffarnagar,which investigators later determined had been shot in either Pakistan or Afghanistan at least two years ago. Som had contested the last Lok Sabha elections on an SP ticket,and has been an independent candidate at local elections.

Maulana Jameel Ahmed: The MLA from Meerapur was allegedly present at the August 30 gathering,which was held not far from his home.

Saedduzzaman: The former Congress MP allegedly made inflammatory speeches on August 30. He has been an MLA earlier and is a former home minister of UP. He also contested the 2004 Lok Sabha elections.

Bhartendu Singh: The BJP MLA from Bijnore is accused of making hate speeches on September 7. Singh had earlier been named in an FIR for violating prohibitory orders.

Hukum Singh: The BJP MLA from Kairana is accused of inciting hatred at the September 7 mahapanchayat.

Suresh Rana: The BJP MLA from Thana Bhawan has been booked for violating prohibitory orders and making inflammatory speeches at the Jat mahapanchayat.

Rakesh Tikait and Naresh Tikait: They are sons of farmer leader Mahendra Singh Tikait. Rakesh is general secretary of Tikait’s BKU; Naresh is president. Both were allegedly involved in organising the September 7 mahapanchayat.

Swami Omvesh: The former MLA contested and won the 2007 election from Bijnore on an RLD ticket.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.