Follow Us:
Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Land Acquisition Bill to include NAC proposals

The Centre said the Land Acquisition Bill would include the recommendations made by Sonia Gandhi-led National Advisory Council.

Written by Express News Service | New Delhi |
June 28, 2011 3:24:51 am

The Centre said on Monday the Land Acquisition (Amendment) Bill would include the recommendations made by Sonia Gandhi-led National Advisory Council (NAC),and,once passed,the legislation would ensure that there are “no more Singurs” in the country. The NAC has prescribed a seven-point test for a having a humane legislation on land acquisition and rehabilitation.

“The recent recommendations of the NAC will be included in the Land Acquisition Bill…there will be no more Singurs. It will support the aspirations of the people,” Union Law Minister M Veerappa Moily told reporters here.

He said the Law Ministry would finalise the proposed Bill once it was sent by the Rural Development Ministry and thereafter it would be put up before the Union Cabinet for approval.

The NAC’s checklist includes: Does it discourage forced displacement? Does it minimise adverse impacts on people,habitats,environment and biodiversity? Does it minimise adverse impacts on food security by actively discouraging acquisition of agricultural land,and promoting local economies? Does it comprehensively define project affected persons/families? Does it provide for a just compensation and rehabilitation package,sensitive to the aspirations,culture,community,natural resource base and skill base of the affected people? Does it ensure humane,participatory,informed,consultative and transparent process? Does it provide for effective implementation?

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.