England name women hockey squad for Delhi CWG

The English squad will be hoping to make it four medals in a row after winning two silvers and a bronze since 1998

Written by Agencies | London | Published: August 20, 2010 3:38:55 pm

Hoping to better the bronze medal-winning performance four years ago in Melbourne,England has named a 16-member women hockey squad for the upcoming Delhi Commonwealth Games.

England already has two Commonwealth Games silver medals – in 1998 and 2002 – and had won a bronze in 2006 since the introduction of hockey in the Games. The English squad will be hoping to make it four medals in a row during the October 3-14 mega event.

Defenders Kate Walsh,captain four years ago,Helen Richardson,Chloe Rogers,Beth Storry and Alex Danson are the only survivors in the team from the bronze medal winning side in Melbourne.

The team also has Charlotte Craddock,who,at 17,became the youngest-ever female hockey Olympian when she was selected in the England squad for the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

England,however,had to drop two players from its World Cup squad starting later this month in Rosario,Argentina.

England Hockey head coach Danny Kerry said: This has been a tough selection demonstrating the growing depth of the squad. We need to follow up our bronze medal in the Champions Trophy last month with a strong performance in the World Cup and then step up again for the Commonwealth Games. This squad has the quality to handle the challenge.

Craig Hunter,England Chef de Mission for the Delhi Games said: We welcome the women hockey players into the squad and wish them every success,first in Argentina and then in their final preparations for Delhi.

The English girls have been grouped alongside New Zealand,Canada,South Africa and Trinidad and Tobago in Pool B while Pool B consists of defending champions Australia,hosts India,Pakistan,Malaysia and Scotland.

The English hockey squad stars Ashleigh Ball,Charlotte Craddock,Christie Cullen,Alex Danson,Susie Gilbert,Hannah Macleod,Helen Richardson,Chloe Rogers,Natalie Seymour,Beth Storry,Georgina Twigg,Laura Unsworth,Kate Walsh,Sally Walton,Nicola White and Kerry Williams.

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App