Decks cleared for ‘one and only’ Srinivasan

Despite charges against son-in-law & adverse observations by SC,BCCI president,lone candidate in fray,set to get a year’s extension.

Written by Devendra Pandey | Chennai | Published: September 29, 2013 3:23:57 am

N Srinivasan is set to get re-elected as Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) president as his was the only nomination filed on Saturday on the eve of the body’s annual general meeting.

However,two vice-presidents,Sudhir Dabir of the Central Zone and Niranjan Shah of West Zone,who were eligible for one-year extension,are likely to be replaced by Rajiv Shukla and Ravi Savant,respectively.

Shah is said to have fallen out of favour as he was one of the members who wanted Srinivasan to resign after his son-in-law and former Chennai Super Kings top official Gurunath Meiyappan was being investigated for betting on IPL matches.

Savant,the president of the Mumbai Cricket Association,is unlikely to continue as treasurer,a post Haryana Cricket Association’s Anirudh Chaudhary is set to take charge of. Chaudhary was tipped to be the next IPL chairman — a post vacant since Rajiv Shukla stepped down in June — but it is learnt that Srinivasan wanted him to one of BCCI office bearers.

In another major change,Arun Jaitley,Bharatiya Janata Party leader and vice-president from the North Zone,informed the BCCI president that he wouldn’t be able to continue because of next year’s Lok Sabha elections. He is likely to be replaced by Delhi and District Cricket Association’s SP Bansal.

However,any suspense over Srinivasan being challenged as he bid to extend his reign as president for another year was squashed when there were no other nominations filed by the Saturday evening deadline.

The Supreme Court,which is hearing a Cricket Association of Bihar plea,had allowed the AGM and elections to be held but stated that Srinivasan would have to wait for its final verdict before taking charge even if he was re-elected.

Srinivasan,it is learnt,has the support of all six South Zone units,crucial as anyone who wanted to contest against him required a proposer and a seconder from this zone.

“First,he got assurances from his zone members. He knew if he can gather the full support of South Zone than no one can challenge him,” a BCCI member said on Saturday.

Now,Sunday’s elections seem a mere formality for Srinivasan.

Among other officer bearers of the BCCI,secretary Sanjay Patel is likely to be retained. Anurag Thakur of the HPCA is set to continue as joint secretary.

It is learnt that Srinivasan had meeting with Savant on Saturday and requested him to give up the treasurer’s post. “He (Srinivasan) didn’t want two office-bearers from the West Zone. Sanjay Patel is from Baroda and Savant from Mumbai. Savant agreed to step down and Anirudh is likely to be named treasurer,” a BCCI member added.


What’s on Agenda

*The AGM will appoint the new chairman of the IPL. It will also appoint members of the IPL Governing Council,and of BCCI’s marketing,finance and other sub-committees.

* The board is also expected to appoint the next NCA director. The post is vacant since 2012 when Sandeep Patil became chairman of the selectors.

* Meanwhile,all members the selection committee — Patil,Roger Binny,Saba Karim,Vikram Rathore and Rajinder Singh Hans — are likely to get extensions. However,a few changes are expected to be made in junior selection committee.

* The BCCI is going to sign agreements with all affiliated units in order to avoid double taxation. Currently,the board,which pays tax on its income,gives grants to its state associations which are taxed again.

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App