Customs orders prosecution of an officer a month

Customs orders prosecution of an officer a month

Central Board of Excise and Customs has sanctioned prosecution of 114 of its ‘corrupt’ officers since 2003

Since 2003 the Central Board of Excise and Customs has sanctioned prosecution against at least 114 officers of various ranks belonging to the Customs and Central Excise Services. In fact,information provided by the CBEC to The Indian Express under the RTI Act shows that sanction for prosecution for corruption is accorded against one officer every month.

In 2009 and 2010,prosecution sanction was granted against 19 and 21 C&CES officers. The officers whose prosecution was sanctioned in 2009 included Ashok Kumar Aswal who was booked in 2004 while being posted at Panvel; N Sree Ramchandran who was booked in 2008 while posted as Kochi Deputy Commissioner; and Ramjibhai C Parmar who was arrested in 2008 as Deputy Commissioner,Ahmedabad. Those against whom sanction was granted in 2010 included G S Purohit,who was Assistant Commissioner,Surat.

Sanction was granted against seven officers in 10 cases in 2011 and against two officers in 2012. The officer prosecuted in 2012 were Commissioner rank officer Anup Kumar Srivastava and Assistant Commissioner rank officer Vikas Jhanjharia.

The information provided by CBEC had data about officers of Group A service only. The number of cases closed and those under investigation were not included. Most of these officers were booked under the Prevention of Corruption Act. The department sanctioned prosecution in all cases and these are at different stages of legal process.


The CBEC granted prosecution against 10 officers in 13 cases in 2008,including Commissioner rank officer Yuvraj Gupta and Joint Commissioner Ramavtar Pabri. A dozen officers were prosecuted in 2007,eight in 2006,14 in 2005,12 in 2004,four in 2003,five in 2002,one in 2001,four in 2000,two in 1999,two in 1998,eight in 1997 and one in 1996. The CBEC seems to be quick in sanctioning prosecution against officers accused of corruption as according to the CVC,there is no officer of this service against whom sanction is awaited for more than four months.

The officers whose prosecution has been sanctioned include:

Rekha Roy: Booked by CBI in 2001 while being posted as Deputy Commissioner,Mumbai. Prosecution was granted against her on May 12,2003.

Ramavtar Pabri: Booked by CBI in two cases of corruption and misuse of official position in November 2005 and March 2006 when he was posted as Deputy Commissioner,Jaipur. Agency found disproportionate assets worth Rs 42.72 lakh. He was arrested on November 24,2005. Prosecution sanction against him was granted on July 23,2007.

T K Chakravorty: Booked on October 4 and October 27,2006 while he posted as Assistant Commissioner,Nhava Sheva,Mumbai. He was arrested on January 5,2006. Prosecution for sanction granted against him on August 3,2009 and April 5,2010.

H R Bheemashankar: He was chargesheeted on February 27,2006 for a case registered in March 2001. He was accused of misusing official position in smuggling of Chinese silk from Uzbekistan. CBEC granted sanction for prosecution against him on November 17,2005.

Virendra Pabhakar: Booked in two cases in early 2006 by CBI. He was posted as Assistant Commissioner,Ludhiana. He was accused of causing loss to the exchequer to the tune of Rs 1.68 crore and acquiring disproportionate assets worth Rs 1.10 crore. CBEC granted prosecution sanction against him on June 6,2006 and June 19,2006 in two cases.

G S Purohit: Was posted at Surat as Assistant Commissioner when he was booked on September 13,2006 by the CBI. He was accused of cheating the department of Rs 1.18 crore in conspiracy with others by forging documents. Sanction for prosecution against him was granted on February 10,2010.

Ashok Mahida: CBI booked him on June 25,2007 and July 18,2007 when he was posted as Additional Commissioner,Rajkot. He was arrested on July 2,2007 and released on bail on September 6,2007. Prosecution sanction granted against him on December 19,2007 and CBI chargesheeted him on January 11,2008 and on March 17,2010.

Ramjibhai C Parmar: Booked on November 14,2008 by CBI when he was Deputy Commissioner,Ahmedabad. He was arrested on November 17,2008. Prosecution was sanctioned granted on June 18,2009.

V Jayaraman: Arrested on January 29,2009 after a case was registered against him on April 26,2006. He was chargesheeted on February 28,2009. CBEC sanctioned prosecution on April 28,2006,March 23,2007 and February 18-20,2009.