Follow Us:
Thursday, May 26, 2022

BJP gives late speaker’s seat to son

The list released Wednesday has 64 names,including that of Ishwardas's son Ashok.

Written by Milind Ghatwai | Bhopal |
November 8, 2013 1:12:09 am

The day after speaker Ishwardas Rohani died,the BJP named his son Ashok as the candidate from his seat,Jabalpur (Cantonment). The 67-year-old’s sudden death Tuesday forced the BJP to postpone the announcement of its second list. The list released Wednesday has 64 names,including that of Ashok,the party’s district general secretary in Jabalpur.

The ruling party has not named candidates for 19 key seats,including two in Bhopal represented by Dhruvnarayan Singh and Jitendra Daga,both questioned by the CBI in separate cases. The party has so far denied tickets to nearly three dozen MLAs.

Chaudhary Rakesh Singh Chaturvedi,who defected from the Congress on the floor of the assembly,has been rewarded with a ticket for his brother Mukesh Chaudhary from Mehgaon,Bhind. The sitting BJP legislator,Rakesh Shukla,has warned of rebellion.

The party has replaced former minister Premnarayan Thakur with his son Uttam from Amarwada constituency.

Best of Express Premium

Explained: The message behind Margaret Atwood’s ‘unburnable&#...Premium
Welcome to the elusive world of crypto mining: Rohtak rig, 3 engineers, R...Premium
Explained: Sugar export curbs and their impactPremium
UPSC CSE Key – May 25, 2022: Know the Relevance of QUAD 2022 to Pangong T...Premium

Ratlam businessman and party treasurer Chetan Kashyap is the candidate from Ratlam (City) and will take on independent MLA Paras Saklecha,who defeated minister Himmat Kothari in 2008.

Former minister Motilal Kashyap,who faced a charge of pushing a minor into prostitution in 2008 before being acquitted,will contest from Badwara (SC),Katni. Former minister Harendra Singh Babbu,who led the list of candidates facing criminal charges in 2008,will again contest from Jabalpur (West).

Former MP Hemant Khandelwal will contest from Betul,and controversial former MLA Jalam Singh Patel from Narsinghpur. Minister Ranjana Baghel,whose candidature was in jeopardy due to her husband’s controversial image,has won a ticket again. Chairman of the state tourism development corporation Mohan Yadav will contest from Ujjain (South).

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard