58 RS seats to go to polls on March 30https://indianexpress.com/article/news-archive/web/58-rs-seats-to-go-to-polls-on-march-30/

58 RS seats to go to polls on March 30

While 10 of these seats are from UP,six each are from Andhra Pradesh,Bihar and Maharashtra.

With the completion of the Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh,Punjab,Uttarakhand,Manipur and Goa,the Election Commission on Saturday announced the schedule for biennial polls to 58 Rajya Sabha seats falling vacant in April.

While 10 of these seats are from UP,six each are from Andhra Pradesh,Bihar and Maharashtra. The remaining are from Madhya Pradesh (5),West Bengal (5),Gujarat (4),Karnataka (4),Orissa (3),Rajasthan (3),Jharkhand (2) and one each from Uttarakhand,Chhattisgarh,Haryana and Himachal Pradesh. A formal notification for the election will be issued on March 12 while the candidates can file their nominations by March 19 and voting,if required,will be held on March 30.

However,there is a likelihood of a peculiar situation in case of 10 UP seats from where the results of the Assembly elections is slated to be announced on March 6. The tenure of the current Assembly will expire only in May. In case of incumbent BSP losing the elections,Mayawati will still have the option to not dissolve the old Assembly till the conclusion of Rajya Sabha elections.

Leaders from SP and BSP assert that it would be politically untenable for the government to not dissolve the House and pave the way for the new House after the elections results are announced on March 6. Even otherwise,they said it would be difficult for Mayawati to get her way given that she had denied tickets to over 100 sitting legislators during the elections and they may defy the party in case the BSP supremo sought to get maximum share in RS seats by prolonging the current Assembly.


Prominent members whose tenure is getting expired include senior BJP leaders Arun Jaitley (Gujarat) and Ravishankar Prasad (Bihar),Rajya Sabha deputy chairman K Rahman Khan (Karnataka),and former LS Speaker Manohar Joshi (Maharashtra).

2 Kashmiris detained in Bihar

The Araria police on Friday night detained two residents of Jammu and Kashmir for suspicious activities. The police said Mohammed Rajzam Hazam,64,a resident of Anantnag,and Ghulam Nabi Ahangar,65,a resident of Kolagaon,were detained from a restaurant. The police found five Jammu and Kashmir SIM cards and one Bihar SIM card from Hazam,who “did not look more than 40 years”.

Araria SP Shivdeep Waman Lande said: “As the two had been moving in suspicious conditions and could not giving us convincing reasons for their visit,we detained them and will produce them before executive magistrate on Monday.”