Talking pointhttps://indianexpress.com/article/news-archive/print/talking-point-14/

Talking point

Australia captain Michael Clarke was frank in the post match ceremony when asked to rate his performance using the DRS system.

Australia captain Michael Clarke was frank in the post match ceremony when asked to rate his performance using the DRS system. “I’m not happy with my use,as I haven’t got many right. England have used it better than I have,” he said. While Cook was selective about using his reviews — he didn’t review once in Australia’s first innings and on most occasions in the second innings chose not to challenge the umpires’ on-field decision — Clarke’s strategy seemed to be that he wasn’t going to die wondering.

Cook reviewed just twice in the match and got both referrals right while Clarke got just one out of three reviews correct.

In a match where the umpires made a few glaring errors,the difference in the two strategies had a significant impact on the result. The Australian’s haste meant that when he was absolutely sure of a dismissal —Stuart Broad’s thick edge to slip at 37,which was not picked up by Aleem Dar — he had no option of going to the third umpire. And Cook’s thriftiness meant that with Australia just 15 runs away from a win,he could refer Dar’s initial not-out decision of a Brad Haddin inside edge and get the decision overturned.

spot on with hot spot

Cook made his first use of DRS in the match nearly 62 overs into Australia’s second innings chase of 311. He got his first referral decision spot on after 61.5 overs when he had Phil Hughes given lbw against Graeme Swann. Cook would wait another 49 overs with Australia just 15 runs from victory before his next and ultimately final review. Having already added 65 runs for the last wicket with James Pattinson,Brad Haddin,on 71,looked good for the first four balls of Anderson’s 32nd over. Haddin drove firmly away from his body at the fifth ball,which was length outside off and a faint sound was heard as it passed the bat,before going low to keeper Matt Prior. Prior celebrated but neither Cook at first slip nor the bowler himself was particularly confident. Nor was Aleem Dar,who gave it not out.

Advertising

Cook decided to chance his luck. After consulting multiple replays and Hot Spot,which seemed to show a tiny smudge as the ball went past the bat,third umpire Erasmus was convinced. Cook,with both referrals in hand,was the winning captain.