Follow Us:
Saturday, July 31, 2021

T20 Champions League winners to get USD 2.5 million

A record prize money pool of USD six million,including a winners' share of USD 2.5 million,would be up for grabs in the 12-team T20 championship.

Written by Agencies | Mumbai |
September 23, 2009 3:54:21 pm

A record prize money pool of USD six million,including a winners’ share of USD 2.5 million,would be up for grabs in the 12-team Airtel Champions League Twenty20 tournament that kicks off at Bangalore on October 8.

“This is the single largest prize money pool in any cricket tournament so far,” said the tournament’s chairman Lalit Modi before unveiling the glittering 1.5-foot tall diamond-studded trophy in Mumbai on Wednesday.

The runners-up are to receive USD 1.3 million while the losing semi finalists would get richer by USD 500,000 each. Teams ending up between 5 and 8 positions would get USD 200,000 each and those finishing in the bottom four would pocket USD 100,000 apiece,it was announced.

“A hundred top cricketers of the world would be seen in action. The opening ceremony would be held at Bangalore on October 7. We have put top class security measures in place with the involvement of the governments and city authorities,” said Modi.

Three Indian teams,including Indian Premier League champions Deccan Chargers (Hyderabad),runners-up Royal Challengers (Bangalore) and Delhi Daredevils would be fighting it out in the tournament that ends on October 23.

The other participating teams would be from Australia,South Africa,England (two each),New Zealand,Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

All the players have confirmed participation in the event,it was announced. The participating teams would be playing 19 warm-up matches between October 5 and 7 in the three cities which are hosting the ties in the event – Bangalore,Delhi and Hyderabad.

An expert panel would choose the All Stars XI after the tournament,it was announced. Modi said that for the first time in India there would be access control systems (turnstiles) at the gates for the spectators to enter the venues. “These will be used at Delhi and Bangalore,” he said.

Modi said that with a view to spread the game to non-cricketing nations,the telecast would be done in eleven different languages – including in European tongues like Hungaria,Italian,Spanish,German etc on the Eurosport broadcast network.

“We want to take cricket to these people in the language they understand,” he explained.

Manu Sawhney,MD of ESPN Star Sports who have won the broadcast rights for the tournament,said that the telecast would be seen in 160 countries.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.