Follow Us:
Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Saina made to work hard in Rd1,Jwala-Ashwini exit

Fifth seed Saina saw off Sato 21-12 14-21 21-17 in a hard-fought match that lasted 57 minutes

Written by Press Trust Of India | New Delhi | Published: June 14, 2012 2:10:53 am

On a high after clinching the Thailand Open title last week,Saina Nehwal started her campaign at the Indonesia Open Super Series Premier with a thrilling three-game victory over Japan’s Sayaka Sato in the women’s singles competition in Jakarta.

Fifth seed Saina saw off Sato 21-12 14-21 21-17 in a hard-fought match that lasted 57 minutes. The world number five Indian will next take on qualifier Aprilla Yuswandaroi of Indonesia.

Saina played long rallies and accumulated points with her better net play. After an initial fight till 6-6,Saina broke off to bag the first game and take a 1-0 lead in the match. In the second game,Saina had a 12-5 lead but blew it off as Sato caught up with her at 13-13 before winning six straight points to level the match 1-1. In the decider,Saina opened up a 8-1 lead and kept her nose ahead to seal the issue comfortably in the end. This was her fifth victory over Sato.

The other Olympic-bound Indian shuttlers had a mixed day with P Kashyap and mixed doubles pair of V Diju and Jwala Gutta making it to the second round. Jwala and Ashwini Ponnappa,however,lost their doubles opening round match.

Kashyap in Rd 2

In the men’s singles,Kashyap survived a scare before prevailing 21-19 19-21 21-16 over Kevin Cordon of Guatemala in a match that lasted an hour and five minutes. Diju and Jwala notched up a thrilling 14-21 21-11 21-16 victory over Korean combo of Yeon Seong Yoo and Ye Na Jang in a 50-minute match. The world number 14 Indians will next take on Tao Jiaming and Xia Huan in the second round.

However,Jwala and Ashwini lost 13-21 17-21 to second seeds Qing Tian and Yunlei Zhao of China in the women’s doubles competition. Among others,Ajay Jayaram saw off Viktor Axelsen of Denmark 21-16 21-14 in 33 minutes. He will next clash with the winner between Indonesian Dionysius Hayom Rumbaka and fourth seed Japanese Sho Sasaki.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.