Follow Us:
Tuesday, August 09, 2022

Pujara named ICC emerging player,Clarke is top cricketer

Pujara became the second fastest Indian to get to 1000 Test runs.

Written by PTI | Dubai |
December 14, 2013 4:14:20 am

Rising Test batsman Cheteshwar Pujara bagged the ‘Emerging Cricketer of the Year’ trophy as India had to be content with just two winners in the ICC Annual awards announced today in which Australian captain Michael Clarke clinched the top honours.

“Australia captain Michael Clarke was today announced as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year,” the ICC said in a statement. The announcement was made ahead of the broadcast of the Awards TV show which premieres tomorrow in most countries across the globe.

“The show is hosted by former Australia captain Ricky Ponting who won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in 2006 and 2007,ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and was appointed captain of ICC’s ODI Team of the Year in 2007,2008 and 2010,” the ICC stated. Clarke was earlier named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year in Mumbai on December 3. In the same event,India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was revealed as the LG People’s Choice award winner.

Clarke has been joined on the winners’ list by Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara,who was named ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year,and Pujara,who claimed his first-ever ICC award. Pujara became the second fastest Indian to get to 1000 Test runs,during the course of his double hundred against Australia in March at Hyderabad,where he put on a 370-run record second wicket partnership with Murali Vijay.

Subscriber Only Stories
Delhi Confidential: Raghav Chadha strikes a lyrical note as he bids farew...Premium
PM’s Office declares assets of Ministers, Modi donates share in only prop...Premium
9 FIRs, many notices: Shrikant Tyagi’s long record of notorietyPremium
Post pandemic, employees reluctant to return, firms take offices to small...Premium

The 25-year-old Pujara has 1310 runs in 15 Tests at an average of 65.50. “Also joining Pujara on the winners list for the first time are New Zealand captain Suzie Bates,who won the ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award,Pakistan fast bowler Umar Gul,whose five for six against South Africa won him the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award,Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien,who won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year award.

England’s Sarah Taylor clinched the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in a row,while Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena won his second ICC Spirit of Cricket award,this time for walking without waiting for an umpire’s decision when batting on 91 against New Zealand in Galle in November 2012.

Best 11

In total there are 11 individual awards,as well as the two ICC Teams of the Year for Tests and ODIs. “I’d like to congratulate all of the winners announced today,who are all highly deserving of their awards. It’s been a fantastic year of cricket and I think a special congratulation is needed for Michael Clarke,who claimed two awards this evening,including of course the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year,” ICC President Alan Isaac said.


Winners: Cricketer of the Year: Michael Clarke (Aus),ODI Cricketer: Kumar Sangakkara (SL),Emerging Cricketer: Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind),Affiliate & Associate Cricketer: Kevin O’Brien (Ire),Umpire: Richard Kettleborough.

TWO IS ALWAYS BETTER | Our two-year subscription package offers you more at less

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 14-12-2013 at 04:14:20 am

Featured Stories