Follow Us:
Sunday, January 23, 2022

Maharashtra overcome Takawale resistance

Tripura’s coach Bhaskar Pillay said that his all but one of his batsmen seemed “scared”.

Written by Chinmay Brahme | Pune |
October 31, 2013 2:25:41 am

For more than four hours on Wednesday,it seemed as if the Ranji Trophy group C game between Maharashtra and Tripura was being played by only twelve people. The 11 Maharashtra players on the pitch threw everything at one Tripura batsman Yogesh Takawale,himself a former Maharashtra product. Takawale resisted for 253 minutes but the rest of the Tripura batsmen could not leaving Maharastra chase down a small total for the win.

Tripura’s coach Bhaskar Pillay said that his all but one of his batsmen seemed “scared”. The cause of their fear was the six feet four inch Maharashtra pacer,Sachin Chaudhari,the policeman from Jalgaon who sent down 19 overs,having the Tripura batsmen fend. Chaudhari finished with seven wickets for 52 runs off his 19.3 overs. On a wicket,which got slower and lower,Chaudhari,27,bent his back and extracted noticeable bounce off the pitch,perennially keeping the inexperienced Tripura batsman on the backfoot. Chaudhari’s devastating bowling was one of the big reasons for Maharashtra’s win.

In the morning session,Tripura resumed on 28 for one. However,in the space of eight balls,their innings was literally ripped apart. From a watchful 42 for one,the side from the north-east slipped to 46 for five. Chaudhari and Shrikant Mundhe ran riot with their movement and bounce on a slow wicket. Only Takawale resisted.

The 28-year-old,who scored a ton in the first innings,seemed set to bail his team out of trouble the second time around. He began brightly,driving the fast bowlers down the ground. Takawale stitched a crucial 113-run partnership with Rana Dutta on his way to his third first class ton,which took his side past Maharashtra’s first innings lead of 156,no mean feat,considering Tripura were floundering at 100 for seven at one stage.

Maharashtra who seemed rather too happy to wait for the second new ball,employed perplexing tactics. With only three wickets to claim the win,Rohit Motwani inexplicably turned to his part-time spinners. With four men on the rope,the Maharashtra skipper seemed to have handed things on a platter for Takawale. The stumper invariably playing out five balls and then took a single off the last. However,Chaudhari trapped Dutta leg before with the score 213,and from then on the pacer polished off the tail in his next over with Takawale,unbeaten on 109,being forced to watch his team fold tamely.

Briefscores: Tripura 304 & 218 (Harshad Takawale 109*; Sachin Chaudhary 7/52,Shrikant Mundhe 3/62) lost to Maharashtra 460/3 decl & 63/1 (Kedar Jadhav 48*). Points: Maharashtra 6,Tripura 0.


Group a:

Jharkhand,Delhi share points

At Ranchi: Match abandoned without a ball bowled. Points: Jharkhand 1,Delhi 1.

Group b:

Middle-order saves Railways the blushes

At Indore: Railways,following on after conceding a 175-run first innings lead,held on for a point against Madhya Pradesh. Railways lost their last wicket without adding to their overnight total of 335,with Ishwar Pandey picking up his eighth wicket. Railways were soon in trouble in their second innings,with Pandey and Anand Rajan striking to leave them 11/2. After a third-wicket stand of 51,Nitin Bhille (25) and Amit Paunikar (27) fell in quick succession to leave the visitors struggling at 64/4. From there,an unbeaten 72 (164b,7×4,1×6) from Arindam Ghosh saw Railways to safety,as he put on 58 with Ashish Yadav (37) for the fifth wicket,69 with Mahesh Rawat (37) for the sixth,and an unbroken 44 with Karan Sharma (25*) for the seventh.

Brief scores: Madhya Pradesh 510/6 decl drew with Railways 335 in 104.5 overs (Shivakant Shukla 113,Mahesh Rawat 103; Ishwar Pandey 8/84,Jatin Saxena 2/79) and 235/6 in 78 overs (Ashish Yadav 37,Arindam Ghosh 72*,Mahesh Rawat 37; Ishwar Pandey 3/36). Points: MP 3,Railways 1.

Bishnoi’s ton goes in vain as Rajasthan crash

At rajkot: A defiant maiden first class century (106,139b,12×4,3×6) from Rajesh Bishnoi wasn’t enough to prevent Rajasthan from crashing to defeat by an innings and 31 runs against Saurashtra. Following on,Rajasthan were four wickets down and 192 short of making Saurashtra bat again. Bishnoi and Hrishikesh Kanitkar extended their fifth-wicket stand to 91,before the Rajasthan skipper was out for 42. Bishnoi then dominated a seventh-wicket stand of 61 with Ramesh Powar,who stuck around to score 5 from 67 balls,before both fell at the same score. The last two pairs only survived 3.1 overs. Left-arm spinner Dharmendrasinh Jadeja finished with four wickets.

Brief scores: Saurashtra 475/7 decl bt Rajasthan 136 & 308 in 91.3 overs (Vineet Saxena 70,Hrishikesh Kanitkar 42,Rajesh Bishnoi 106; Abhishek Bhatt 2/9,Dharmendrasinh Jadeja 4/108). Points: Saurashtra 7,Rajasthan 0.

Bengal,Baroda match abandoned

At Kolkata: Match abandoned without a ball bowled. Points: Bengal 1,Baroda 1.

Group c:

Kerala,HP bag three points

At Guwahati: Assam 323 and 217/9 in 96 overs (Sibsankar Roy 45,Tarjinder Singh 46; Vinoop Manoharan 3/66,CP Shahid 3/43) drew with Kerala 362. Points: Kerala 3,

Assam 1.

At Dharamsala: HP 558/5 decl drew with Goa 243& 282/2 in 93 overs (Amogh Desai 126,Swapnil Asnodkar 109*). Points: HP 3,Goa 1.

At Hyderabad: Hyderabad 221 & 251/6 in 98 overs (DB Ravi Teja 37,Tirumalasetti Suman 36, Hanuma Vihari 68*,Bavanaka Sandeep 33; D Shivkumar 2/40,Marripuri Suresh 3/32) drew with Andhra 185. Points: Hyderabad 3,Andhra 1.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard