Monday, Oct 03, 2022

Last in 2008,toppers this year: Deccan script IPL fairytale

Gilchrist and his Deccan Chargers teammates pipped Royal Challengers Bangalore by six runs to be crowned the second IPL champions.

Adam Gilchrist and his never-say-die Deccan Chargers teammates pipped Royal Challengers Bangalore by six runs in a humdinger to be crowned the second Indian Premier League champions here on Sunday.

Chasing a modest 144 for win,Bangalore rode on cameos from Roelof van der Merwe (32) and Ross Taylor (27) to come near the mark but eventually halted at 137 for nine in the final match.

Put into bat,the Chargers had earlier found their nemesis in Anil Kumble (4/16) and it took Herschelle Gibbs’ unbeaten 48-ball 53 and Andrew Symonds’ brisk 33 to reach 143 for six.

Despite the defeat,Kumble’s was a towering presence on Sunday. The Bangalore captain won the toss,made the right decisions,struck with the ball whenever the tie threatened to slip through fingers but still found himself at the wrong end of the contest.

Subscriber Only Stories
Express Investigation: In groundwater near a Delhi landfill, heavy metals...Premium
Govt eyes tax breaks for more non-polluting tech in auto sectorPremium
Fodder inflation at 9-yr high, late rains, crop damage deepen crisisPremium
‘Pak is not as dominant… I keep saying it is Indo-Pac with a ...Premium

For Bangalore,the target was not huge but they lost Jacques Kallis (16) and the in-form Manish Pandey (4) early to find themselves in a spot of bother.

Coming at number three,van der Merwe had a busy time in the middle but even his lusty hits were not enough.

He copped some sledges from Andrew Symonds and ran some crazy runs before hitting Ryan Harris for two sixes in the same over. Symonds too was hit out of the park before Pragyan Ojha cut short the South African’s eventful 21-ball stay.


Symonds removed Taylor and Virat Kohli (7) with successive deliveries to tilt the match and Bangalore lost wickets in heaps towards the end which proved decisive in the end.

Earlier,it was Kumble’s four-wicket haul that restricted Deccan Chargers to a sub-150 score.

Kumble was in the thick of things right from the start and was quick to win the individual battle against his opposite number Gilchrist.


Kumble called it correct at toss,inserted the Chargers,opened the attack and his third delivery castled the scoreless Gilchrist to send groans across the Hyderabad dug-out.

Having removed Gilchrist,Kumble then paved way for R Vinay Kumar and the right-arm pacer responded by removing T Suman (10) in his first over.

Symonds too would have been back in the hut soon with just five runs against his name but Rahul Dravid,statistically the safest pair of hands in international cricket,dropped a sitter off Vinay Kumar at slip.

Symonds decided he would made Bangalore pay the price for the lapse. So Vinay Kumar was dispatched across the ropes,Jacques Kallis copped back-to-back boundaries and Roelof van der Merwe was hit out of the park in his first over.

But just when things threatened to go out of control,Bangalore once again found their messiah in their skipper as Kumble returned to remove Symonds in the ninth over to cut short his 21-ball stay in the middle.


Gibbs and Rohit Sharma (24) guided the side past the 100-mark but boundaries had dried up by then.

Kumble went on to claim Rohit and Venugopal Rao (0) in his last over and the Chargers never got the late charge they needed so badly.


Gibbs’ was a sedate,rather than swashbuckling,knock and the tremendous discipline showed by the Bangalore bowlers meant there was just no freebies for the batsmen.

First published on: 24-05-2009 at 11:26:31 am
Next Story

Indians will handle pressure better at T20 WC post-IPL: Dhoni

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments