IPL 2013: Royal Challengers Bangalore post 187/3 against Pune Warriors

Sparkling innings by Saurabh Tiwary,A B de Villiers allowed RCB to post another top target.

Written by PTI | Pune | Published: May 2, 2013 9:07:00 pm

Opting to bat,Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 187 for three against Pune Warriors in a IPL 2013 league match here today.

Saurabh Tiwary made a fine 52 before A B de Villiers’ quick-fire unbeaten 50 propelled Royal Challengers Bangalore to a challenging 187 for three against Pune Warriors in a Pepsi Indian Premier League match here today.

Asked to open the batting,Tiwary stood up to his captain’s call and held together RCB’s innings with a fine half-century that came off 45 balls and was studded with two fours and as many sixes.

But it took a brilliant improvised innings from De Villiers towards the rear phase of the innings to steal the limelight from Tiwary.

The South African took the Pune bowlers for a leatherhunt and scered his 50 off just 23 balls with the help of six boundaries and two sixes to take RCB past the 180-run mark which at one stage looked bleak.

In Moises Henriques (27 off 13),De Villiers found an able partner. The duo smacked took the Pune bowlers for a task and shared unbeaten 68 runs for the fourth wicket in just 4.5 overs.

De Villeiers showed great improvisation and scored a whopping 26 runs off Ashok Dinda in the final over to finish off RCB’s innings in style.

Poor Dinda came under De Villiers’ wrath as he hit the ordinary-looking pacer for 6,4,6,4,4 and two runs in the final over of the innings.

However,opting to bat,RCB did not have the best of starts as Chris Gayle and Tiwary found the going tough against Pune’s disciplined opening attack.

Brief Scores:

Royal Challangers Bangalore: 187 for three in 20 overs (Saurabh Tiwary 52,A B de Villiers 50 not out; Ashok Dinda 2/52).


Pune Warriors: Aaron Finch (capt),Robin Uthappa,Yuvraj Singh,Angelo Mathews,Steven Smith,Tirumalasetti Suman,Abhishek Nayar,Bhuvneshwar Kumar,Rahul Sharma,Ajantha Mendis,Ashok Dinda.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (capt),Lokesh Rahul,Chris Gayle,AB de Villiers,Moises Henriques,Saurabh Tiwary,K B Arun Karthik,R Vinay Kumar,Murali Kartik,Muttiah Muralitharan,R P Singh.

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App