Follow Us:
Tuesday, August 16, 2022

In-form Yuvraj Singh returns; Parvez Rasool makes way for Ashwin

After string of fine performances,Yuvraj makes a comeback to the ODI team.

Written by PTI | New Delhi |
September 30, 2013 12:19:42 pm

In-form senior batsman Yuvraj Singh was recalled but pacer Umesh Yadav was dropped from the 15-member Indian cricket team announced today for the first Twenty20 International and three ODIs against Australia starting October 10 in Rajkot.

Yuvraj Singh,who last played for India against England in an ODI in Dharamsala last January,was recalled after a string of fantastic scores for India A against West Indies A and a solid display for India Blue in the recently-concluded NKP Salve Challenger Trophy.

Yuvraj Singh scored 337 runs in five List A matches at an average of 67.40 with a highest score of 123 against the touring Caribbean side. He also scored a quickfire 52 against West Indies A in a T20 game in Bangalore.

With his more than useful left-arm spin as back-up,Yuvraj Singh is certain to play an important role in that Indian bowling line-up in the middle overs.

Subscriber Only Stories
The rise of the worker productivity scorePremium
Delhi Confidential: Tiranga selfies campaign a big hit on Independence DayPremium
Bihar berozgari refrain makes way into CM’s job promisePremium
Collegium led by CJI Ramana cleared over 250 for HCs; vacancies now lowes...Premium

Yuvraj Singh replaced Dinesh Karthik,who didn’t do much since his comeback save a lone half century in the Champions Trophy.

Opener Murali Vijay,who hasn’t set the limited overs stage on fire was also dropped from the squad announced by the selection committee headed by Sandeep Patil.

One of the notable exclusions was pacer Umesh Yadav,who didn’t do his case a world of good by performing poorly in the Challenger Trophy giving away 67 runs in 10 overs and a whopping 85 runs in 9 overs respectively in the two matches he played for India Red.


Bengal speedster Mohammed Shami,seasoned Karnataka seamer Ranganath Vinay Kumar and promising Saurashtra left arm seamer Jaydev Unadkat were retained from the pace attack that played its last international series in Zimbabwe.

Haryana paceman Mohit Sharma was dropped from the squad while Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma made a comeback after well deserved rest. Bhuvneshwar bowled India Blue to Challenger Trophy triumph with a four-wicket haul in the final.

Young Jammu and Kashmir all-rounder Perveez Rasool made way for senior off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin while Amit Mishra held on to his place in the squad having taken 18 wickets in the last series against Zimbabwe.


The reserve batsman’s place in the squad was a battle between Ambati Rayudu and Ajinkya Rahane with very little to choose between them.

In the end,Rayudu who now plays for Baroda in Ranji Trophy,got the nod ahead of the Mumbaikar.

According to a reliable source,the names of senior pros Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir did not even come up for discussion but the selectors will be keenly following their performance in the four-day match against the West Indies A in Hubli,Karnataka from Wednesday.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni,Shikhar Dhawan,Rohit Sharma,Virat Kohli,Yuvraj Singh,Suresh Raina,Ravindra Jadeja,R Ashwin,Bhuvneshwar Kumar,Ishant Sharma,Vinay Kumar,Amit Mishra,Ambati Rayudu,Mohammed Shami,Jaydev Unadkat

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 30-09-2013 at 12:19:42 pm

Featured Stories