Follow Us:
Wednesday, February 26, 2020

I didn’t smash the TV set,insists Ponting

Oz captain had accepted the Level 1 charge but maintained he did not hit the TV set intentionally.

Written by Agencies | Nagpur | Published: February 24, 2011 3:32:55 pm

Reprimanded by the ICC for breach of code of conduct,Australian captain Ricky Ponting today maintained that he did not damage the television set in the dressing room during the match against Zimbabwe intentionally and that it was just an “accident”.

Ponting had accepted the Level 1 charge and the proposed sanction from Match Referee Roshan Mahanama but insisted that he did not hit the TV set intentionally.

“I don’t know where the stories have come from. I accept what ICC has come up with so far about reprimand. I just wanted to clarify that television set was not hit by me with my cricket bat.

“It was my cricket box that hit the my cricket kit and caused small damage to the television set. I reported the matter straight away to the team manager. They replaced the TV set immediately,” Ponting told the mediapersons at Jamtha today.

“Some of the things reported over the past two days had been different from what actually happened,” he added.

But Ponting did admit that although it was an “accident”,it shouldn’t have happened in the first place.

“Dressing room is a sacred place and there is always a line which one shouldn’t cross. It was accidental and no malice was involved,” he said in an apologetic tone.

He was found to have breached clause 2.1.2 of the code which relates to abuse of cricket equipment or clothing,ground equipment or fixtures and fittings during an international match.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App.