George Bailey appointed vice-captain for Champions Trophy

George Bailey appointed vice-captain for Champions Trophy

Michael Clarke was named as captain of the 15-man squad for Champions Trophy.

George Bailey was named Australia’s vice-captain,replacing Shane Watson,in the Champions Trophy one-day squad announced on Wednesday.

Michael Clarke was named as captain of the 15-man squad for the tournament beginning next month in England and Wales,with Watson included as an allrounder after standing down as deputy last month.

The only uncapped player added to the lineup was medium-fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile in place of the injured Ben Cutting,while Mitchell Marsh,Adam Voges and James Faulkner were also included at the expense of Steve Smith,Aaron Finch and Moises Henriques.

Twenty20 captain Bailey provides Australia not only an extra batting option,but the opportunity to groom Clarke’s eventual successor for the one-day side.


“The (National Selection Panel) has been impressed with George’s leadership when he stepped in to guide the ODI team in Michael’s absence last summer and leadership of the T20 team over the past two seasons,” chief selector John Inverarity said. “Given George’s experience and credentials,he was viewed as the ideal person for the role.”

Inverarity said Coulter-Nile has impressed as both a fast-medium bowler and a lower-order batsman.

“He is also one of the finest fieldsmen in Australian cricket and the energy he brings to his game is impressive,” he said.

“While Nathan has played a T20 international for Australia,we are looking forward to seeing him take his very good domestic limited-overs form onto the world stage.”

Fast bowlers James Pattinson and Ryan Harris will sit out the Champions Trophy,instead preparing for the five-test series against England by playing with the Australia A side which is touring Britain at the same time.

Matthew Wade was chosen as wicketkeeper ahead of Brad Haddin,who was last week named test vice-captain for Australia’s Ashes squad.

Australia,who won the 2009 Champions Trophy in South Africa,will open its 2013 campaign against England on June 8 at Edgbaston. Joining Australia and England in Group A for the tournament are New Zealand and Sri Lanka.


Michael Clarke (captain),George Bailey (vice-captain),Nathan Coulter-Nile,Xavier Doherty,James Faulkner,Phillip Hughes,Mitchell Johnson,Clint McKay,Mitchell Marsh,Glenn Maxwell,Mitchell Starc,Adam Voges,Matthew Wade,David Warner,Shane Watson.