Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

Before Advani,there were…

Gujarat BJP leaders involved in run-ins with Modi

Written by Hiral Dave | Published: June 11, 2013 3:23:55 am

Shankersinh Vaghela: During Keshubhai Patel’s tenure as chief minister,the BJP suffered a split that many say was engineered by Modi. Vaghela,one of the party’s founders,walked out with 43 MLAs. Keshubhai was replaced; Vaghela launched a new party and became CM once. He cuts a lonely figure in the Congress today,with Modi having wooed back many of his men.

Keshubhai Patel: BJP’s first Gujarat CM in 1995,while Modi was general secretary in charge of the state. In 2001,Modi replaced Patel on grounds of poor governance and a defeat in a byelection. Patel has since launched the Gujarat Parivartan Party,whose only MLA other than Patel is already warming up to the BJP.

Haren Pandya: Former minister of state for home,close to Patel,refused to vacate his constituency for Modi who needed a win following his induction as CM in 2001. Pandya later testified against Modi before a tribunal hearing riots cases. In 2002,Modi

refused him an assembly ticket. Pandya was murdered in 2003 and the men the CBI accused went on to be acquitted by the Gujarat High Court.

Gordhan Zadaphia : Former minister of state for home,unhappy with Modi for sidelining Patel. Sought to organise a farmers’ group against him in 2007,launched a party in 2009 that later merged into Patel’s. He lost 2009 general election and 2012 Assembly polls.

Suresh Mehta: He replaced Patel as chief minister,but was eventually sidelined by Modi for his closeness to Patel. In 2002,when Modi led the BJP to a sweep,Mehta lost from Mandvi. Mehta,who believes that party workers went against him,teamed up with

Patel but did not contest elections.

Kashiram Rana : A former union textile minister,he was among the replacements considered when the BJP central leadership was planning Keshubhai’s removal. Rana was eventually sidelined in the party,and he joined a rebel group in 2007,then joined Patel’s party in 2012. He died just before the 2012 Assembly elections.

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App