Ajantha Mendis dropped for Champions Trophy

Besides Mendis,batsman Upul Tharanga also failed to find a place in the squad.

Written by PTI | Colombo | Published: May 2, 2013 4:05:20 pm

Sri Lanka today named a 15-member squad for the ICC Champions Trophy to be held in England next month with the selectors continuing to snub spinner Ajantha Mendis.

Besides Mendis,batsman Upul Tharanga also failed to find a place in the squad for the June 6-23 tournament.

Angelo Mathews,who captained Pune Warriors in the ongoing IPL before dropping himself,will lead the Sri Lankan squad with Dinesh Chandimal being named his deputy.

Mendis continued to be sidelined as he was also not named in the Sri Lankan squad against Bangladesh in the home ODI series in March.

Former skipper Mahela Jayawardene,who is captaining Delhi Daredevils in the ongoing IPL,also returns after missing the ODIs against Bangladesh due to a finger injury.

Four other playing who are featuring in the IPL — Kumar Sangakkara,Tillakaratne Dilshan,Lasith Malinga and Sachithra

Senanayake — figured in the squad.

The Squad: Angelo Mathews (capt),Dinesh Chandimal (vc),Tillakaratne Dilshan,Kusal Janith Perera,Kumar Sangakkara,Mahela Jayawardena,Lahiru Thirimanne,Jeevan Mendis,Thisara Perera,Lasith Malinga,Rangana Herath,Nuwan Kulasekera,Shaminda Eranga,Sachithra Senanayake and Chanaka Welagedera

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App