In relief for Reddy,PRP group to ‘protect’ govt

In relief for Reddy,PRP group to ‘protect’ govt

17-member PRP headed by Chiranjeevi assured AP govt as they would vote against no-trust motion.

The crisis staring at the Kiran Kumar Reddy government seemed to have blown over 24 hours ahead of the crucial vote on Opposition TDP’s no-confidence motion on Monday,with the 17-member Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) group deciding to vote against the motion.

“As per our word,we will protect the government by voting against the no-trust motion,” leader of the PRP group Chiranjeevi said at the end of a meeting with his MLAs here on Sunday night.

The intervention of AICC leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Ahmed Patel,besides Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy and state Congress president Botsa Satyanarayana,apparently paid off by Sunday evening and the Chiranjeevi group has reportedly assured them that it would not go against the government.

“I spoke to Chiranjeevi,there will not be any problem with his MLAs,” Kiran Kumar told newsmen in an informal chat in the Assembly,implying that they would vote for the government.


Chiranjeevi admitted that there was “discontentment” among his MLAs,who recently merged with the Congress. “But they are satisfied with the assurances given by the AICC leaders,the CM and Botsa,” Chiranjeevi said.

He issued a whip to all his legislators,including the rebel Sobha Nagireddy who has sided with YSR Congress,asking them to vote against the no-confidence motion.

Meanwhile,Kadapa MP and YSR Congress chief Y S Jaganmohan Reddy held a second meeting with 15 MLAs loyal to him.