Follow Us:
Sunday, July 22, 2018

BJP’s new shouting brigade,mostly juniors armed with lung power

Party’s lesser known members are protesting the loudest,leading to regular disruptions in Parliament.

Written by Ravish Tiwari | New Delhi | Published: September 5, 2012 3:56:18 am

It is the BJP’s lesser known MPs who have been enforcing the party leadership’s decision to stall Parliament and raise demands for the Prime Minister’s resignation over the allocation of coal blocks.

Using lung power and trooping into the wells of both Houses,they have been launching the commotion that has led to regular disruptions of proceedings. Those in the Lok Sabha represent seats from the Andaman and Nicobar Islands to Uttar Pradesh.

Seniors such as L K Advani,Sushma Swaraj,Gopinath Munde,Rajnath Singh,Murli Manohar Joshi,Ananth Kumar,Yashwant Sinha and Shahnawaz Hussain have remained in the front and second rows of the Lok Sabha. In the Rajya Sabha,too,the BJP’s most prominent members have remained in their places,though not necessarily seated. These include Arun Jaitley,Ravishankar Prasad,Rajiv Pratap Rudy,Prakash Javadekar,Venakaiah Naidu,Shanta Kumar and Najma Heptullah.

“The prominent leaders don’t come to the well,” agrees Nand Kumar Sai who,along with a couple of other MPs,invariably leads the protests in the Rajya Sabha. “The juniors have the advantage of power in their lungs. Besides,Purushottam Rupala has of late not been coming,so we juniors have taken up the responsibility of staging the protests.”

Rupala,a former Gujarat BJP president,is among the handful of seniors who have been seen protesting vociferously in the Rajya Sabha.

In the Lok Sabha,two MPs always in the lead are Ganesh Singh from Satna parliamentary constituency and K D Deshmukh from Balaghat. With them are Virendra Kumar (Tikamgarh) and Rakesh Singh (Jabalpur). Everyday,they have headed for the well as soon as the House has assembled.

“Apart from being MPs,we are also party workers. We have to abide by the party decision,” says Ganesh Singh,in his second term as MP . “Even as MPs,we sense among the electorate a mood of agitation against corruption in the wake of the scams involving the allocation of 2G spectrum and coal blocks. If we don’t raise our voices against corruption,our electorate will remove us. It is a duty we are doing.”

Ganesh Singh’s and Deskhmukh’s voices are the loudest in chanting slogans such as “Koyle mein dalali hai,poori Congress kali hai,” “Pradhan mantri istifa do,” or “Sarkar ka bura haal,Congress ne khaya mota maal.” They say the slogans are generally of their own creation,though based on briefings received beforehand from the leadership in parliamentary party meetings.

“We create the slogans and revise them during the course of chanting them. We make them based on how the issue has been explained to us by our leader Sushma Swarajji,” says Rakesh Singh,a second-term MP.

Sai of the Rajya Sabha,too,says meetings of the parliamentary party discuss what theme the slogans should be on. “I don’t remember who coined the Koyle mein dalali hai slogan but it has become a hit,” Sai says. “Apart from the new slogans,we also have stock slogans used in the past,such as Ek baat spasht hai,Congress party bhrasht hai. We fit those in between.”

Women MPs are not far behind the frontrunners in either House. Lok Sabha MPs such as Jyoti Dhurve (Betul constituency),Jayshreeben Patel (Mahesana),Rama Devi (Sheohar) and Saroj Pandey (Durg) have been joining the chorus of slogans for the Prime Minister’s resignation. In the Rajya Sabha,Bimla Kashyap Sood is a regular in the disruption activity while Smriti Irani too has been seen among the noisemakers.

“We have seen that the government does not take the debate in Parliament as seriously as we would have liked them to,” says Dhurve,a first-term MP. “The scam involving coal block allocation is bigger than even the 2G scam. We cannot let this government continue indulging in scam after scam.”

Then there are Dilip Gandhi (Ahmednagar),Arjun Meghwal (Bikaner),Bhoopendra Singh (Sagar),Sanjay Jaiswal (West Champaran),Ram Shankar (Agra),Rajendra Agarwal (Meerut),Ashok Argal (Bhind),Govind Prasad Mishra (Sidhi),Narendra Singh Tomar (Morena) and Bishnu Pada Ray (Andaman and Nicobar),all of them regulars in the well.

Though seniors by and large avoid such trooping,BJP general secretary Narendra Singh Tomar has been an exception and joining the slogan shouting.

The Rajya Sabha disruptions too have included,besides Rupala,BJP general secretaries J P Nadda and Dharmendra Pradhan,but here again it is the lesser known MPs who lead the slogan-shouting.

Besides Sai,the Rajya Sabha’s Mansukh L Mandaviya and Raghunandan Sharma are invariably in the forefront. And besides Sood,those who have always been joining them include Bharatsinh Prabhatsinh Parmar,Avinash Rai Khanna and V P Singh Badnore.

For all the latest News Archive News, download Indian Express App