I want my brother to become an afsar: Sunil (Chaat vendor)

Sunil,18, Chaat Vendor, JM Road, Pune on his life and more.

Written by Aashay Khandekar | New Delhi | Updated: June 14, 2015 1:00:37 am
Sunil, 18, Chaat Vendor Sunil, 18, Chaat Vendor

Sunil,18, Chaat Vendor, JM Road, Pune

How long have you been in Pune?
It has been over five months now.

Where are you from?
I’m from Karauli-Dholpur in Rajasthan, which falls on the border of Madhya Pradesh and UP.

Where do you live in Pune?
In Janawadi. There’s a small one room flat. I live with my friends, who work as vendors in different parts of the city.

How much do you earn in a day?
I earn around Rs 250-300 on an average business day. On weekends, I earn double the amount.

Where does your family stay?
They live in Dholpur. My father is a peasant and my brother is in school. I pay his school fees since our father can’t afford to.

I studied till fifth standard. I had to leave school because we had a loan of Rs 6 lakh to repay and my father couldn’t do it alone. I want to see my 12-year old brother become an afsar (officer).

What do you do in your free time?
I like to cook. I don’t take any vacation, but after finishing my work here at 9 pm, I cook at home. I also like watching shows on TV. We’ve taken it on rent recently.

What do you like to eat?
I like chawal. It reminds me of my mother. My mother cooks daal-chawal very well.

Have you seen Pune?
Yes, I’ve been to Shaniwarwada. I also like Shivajinagar Garden. Apart from that, I’ve been to nearby places like Wagholi, Narhe. I like to travel. I commute on my bicycle.

Why don’t you call your family here?
We don’t want to leave our desh. My father won’t be able to cope with this (Pune) life.

How often do you go home?
Once in six months.

Are your parents looking to marry you off now, since you’ve become independent?
(blushes) Not yet, I must get a house of my own for that.
City Seekers: A new series on migrants in urban India

For all the latest Lifestyle News, download Indian Express App