Yogi Adityanath becomes Uttar Pradesh chief minister, PM Modi says ‘there will be record development’

The swearing-in ceremony of Yogi Adityanath took place at Smriti Upvan in Lucknow and was attended by senior leaders including PM Modi and party president Amit Shah.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: March 19, 2017 5:32:25 pm
yogi adityanath, yogi adityanath chief minister, uttar pradesh, up cabinet ministers, gorakhpur, uttar pradesh cm ceremony, oath taking ceremony, narendra modi, amit shah Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP National President Amit Shah at Yogi Adityanath oath taking ceremoney at Smriti Upvan in Lucknow on Sunday. (Source: Express photo by Vishal Srivastav)

BJP leader and five-time Gorakhpur MP, Yogi Adityanath was sworn-in as the 21st Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh on Sunday, a day after he was unanimously chosen by party MLAs as the legislative leader at a meeting in Lucknow. The oath taking ceremony took place at Smriti Upvan in Lucknow and was attended by senior leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah.

Former UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav and Mulayam Singh Yadav were also present at the event. The chief ministers from the BJP and NDA-ruled states were also among those in attendance. Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma were also sworn-in as the deputy chief ministers of the state.

Apart from that, a total of 23 leaders took oath of the cabinet minister. Here’s the complete list:

Swami Prasad Maurya

Satish Mahana

Rajesh Agarwal

Rita Bahuguna Joshi

Surya Pratap Shahi

Suresh Khanna

Dara Singh Chauhan

Dharmpal Singh

SP Singh Baghel

Satyadev Pachauri

Ramapati Shastri

Jay Pratap Singh

Omprakash Rajbhar

Brajesh Pathak

Laxmi Narayan Chaudhary

Chetan Chauhan

Shrikant Sharma

Rajendra Pratap Singh

Siddharth Nath Singh

Mukut Bihari Verma

Ashutosh Tandon

Girish Yadav

Nand Kumar Nandi

Apart from the Cabinet Ministers, nine Ministers of State (Independent) and 15 Ministers of State also took oath of office.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday congratulated Yogi Adityanath after he took over as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh. Expressing confidence that the newly elected chief minister of the state and his team will leave no stone unturned in developing Uttar Pradesh, he tweeted, “I have immense confidence that this new team will leave no stone unturned in making UP Uttam Pradesh. There will be record development. Our sole mission and motive is development. When Utttar Pradesh develops, India develops. We want to serve UP’s youth and create opportunities for them.”

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App