Follow Us:
Monday, August 02, 2021

Yellapur (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: BJP wins by over 31,000 votes

Yellapur (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Yellapur assembly constituency bye-election results on Yellapur assembly constituency went to polls on December 5.

By: Express Web Desk | Bengaluru |
Updated: December 9, 2019 12:02:57 pm
Yellapur (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: Winner, Runner-up Yellapur Bye-Election Results 2019: Yellapur constituency went to polls on December 5.

Yellapur (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: BJP candidate Arabail Hebbar Shivaram won the Yellapur seat by over 31,408 votes on Monday, defeating his nearest rival Congress candidate Bhimanna Naik. Bye-elections to the seat were held on December 5, and the results are being declared Monday.

Follow LIVE updates on Karnataka bypoll results

The seat is among 17 that fell vacant after rebel MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) parties defected to the BJP in a bid to bring down the coalition government. The MLAs were subsequently disqualified from the House but were allowed by the Supreme Court to the contest the bypolls. Elections to two seats — Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Maski — were not held as separate election petitions challenging the results of the 2018 elections are still pending in the Karnataka High Court.

An overall of 66.25 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls to 15 constituencies across nine districts of Karnataka.

In the 2018 Assembly elections in Karnataka, BJP won 104 seats, Congress 80, and the JD(S) 37 seats in the 224-member House. Three seats were won by others.

After BJP failed to muster a majority, the Congress and JD(S) forged an alliance to form the government, with HD Kumaraswamy becoming the Chief Minister.

In July 2019, 14 MLAs from the Congress and three from the JD-S quit the Assembly; a trust vote on July 23 led to the collapse of Kumaraswamy’s government. The BJP staked claim to form a new government under Yediyurappa on July 26.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by