Follow Us:
Monday, August 15, 2022

Vijayanagara (Karnataka) Assembly Bypoll Results 2019 Live: BJP wins by over 30,000 votes

Vijayanagara (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019, Karnataka Bypoll Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Vijayanagara assembly constituency bye-election results on Vijayanagara assembly constituency went to polls on December 5.

By: Express Web Desk | Bengaluru |
Updated: December 9, 2019 1:50:01 pm
Vijayanagara Bye-Election Results 2019: Vijayanagara constituency went to polls on December 5.

Vijayanagara (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019, Karnataka Bypoll Results 2019 Live: BJP’s Anand Singh won the Vijayanagara bypoll on Monday, defeating the Congress’ V Y Ghorpade by 30,125 votes. The bye-election for Vijayanagara constituency in Karnataka was held on December 5.

Follow LIVE updates on Karnataka bypoll results

The seat is among 17 that fell vacant after rebel MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) parties defected to the BJP in a bid to bring down the coalition government. The MLAs were subsequently disqualified from the House but were allowed by the Supreme Court to the contest the bypolls. Elections to two seats — Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Maski — were not held as separate election petitions challenging the results of the 2018 elections are still pending in the Karnataka High Court.

An overall of 66.25 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls to 15 constituencies across nine districts of Karnataka.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Essentials: Key terms of the past week with MCQsPremium
ExplainSpeaking | India at 75: 11 charts to understand how far India has ...Premium
Why a majority of Muslims opposed Jinnah’s idea of Partition and stayed o...Premium
Delhi Confidential: Who will hoist the Tricolour at the AICC headquarters...Premium

In the 2018 Assembly elections in Karnataka, BJP won 104 seats, Congress 80, and the JD(S) 37 seats in the 224-member House. Three seats were won by others.

After BJP failed to muster a majority, the Congress and JD(S) forged an alliance to form the government, with HD Kumaraswamy becoming the Chief Minister.

In July 2019, 14 MLAs from the Congress and three from the JD-S quit the Assembly; a trust vote on July 23 led to the collapse of Kumaraswamy’s government. The BJP staked claim to form a new government under Yediyurappa on July 26.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 09-12-2019 at 08:24:47 am
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories