Samajwadi Party gives ticket to kin of Ansari, Azam and BSP’s Naseemuddin

SP state unit president Shivpal Singh Yadav released the new list at the party headquarters here.

By: PTI | Lucknow | Updated: December 10, 2016 8:39:05 pm
shivpal resign, sidharth nath resign, bjp up, mulayam singh yadav, sp chief mulayam yadav, akhilesh yadav, Shivpal Yadav , sp workers, india news, latest news Samajwadi Party supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav (L) and Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav (2nd R)PTI Photo

Sigbatullah Ansari, brother of gangster-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari, and BSP leader Naseemuddin Siddiqui’s brother Hasnuddin are among 23 candidates named by Samajwadi Party on Saturday for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh assembly elections.

Watch What Else Is making News

The party has also fielded controversial former MP Atiq Ahmed from Kanpur Cant and Abdullah Azam, son of senior minister Azam Khan, from Swar.

Hasnuddin Siddiqui has been given ticket from Banda. His brother Naseemuddin is considered a close confidant of BSP president Mayawati and is the Muslim face of her party. SP state unit president Shivpal Singh Yadav released the new list at the party headquarters.

Sigbatullah has been fielded from the Mohammadabad seat that he represents in the present Vidhan Sabha. Atiq Ahmed, who is a former MP from Phoolpur, is an accused in the murder of BSP MLA Raju Pal.

Atiq was also the president of the Apna Dal from 1999 to 2003. Mukhtar Ansari’s Quami Ekta Dal recently merged with the SP despite opposition by chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav.

The party has changed seven candidates which it had earlier announced.

Start your day the best way
with the Express Morning Briefing

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App